Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> xine-hd -> silliest question ever: difference between xine and xine-hd?
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
silliest question ever: difference between xine and xine-hd?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:35 am Reply with quote
rampy
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Hartford, CT




It's not made abundantly clear (to me) if there's any difference between the xine that say comes with knoppmyth, and the one on this site i.e. should I download xine-hd from here because it'll have some performance or other improvements over regular xine?

Is xine-hd maintained actively by the pchdtv crew as a separate fork/build?

Would one recommend going with the latest xine from the xine site, or xine-hd build on the pchdtv site?

thanks!

rampy

_________________
Build Your Own PVR Community Site & Forum
UberCade: MAME cabinet
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:46 am Reply with quote
rampy
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Hartford, CT




Although I think I have my answer

Quote:
The only "gotcha" with plain xine is that you can't select the subchannel in the way mplayer can (using its -tsprog flag). The pcHDTV folks provide a patched version of xine called "xine-hd" which can select the subchannel using the "-C" option, e.g.:


via peter's howto wiki

I'd still be interested in knowing which build xine you use (with DVB drivers)

thanks!

rampy

_________________
Build Your Own PVR Community Site & Forum
UberCade: MAME cabinet
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 6:38 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




Hey rampy -
What I currently use (and am testing right now) is the latest xine-lib and xine-ui and applying a patch to xine-lib to add support for ATSC tuning using the DVB drivers. You can get that patch along with some updated tools from the downloads on pcHDTV; look for dvb_atsc_tools. In that tarball is a file called atsc_patch.

When you have unpacked xine-lib then cd to the xine-lib directory and type:
Code:
> cat /path/to/atsc_patch | patch -p1

and it should patch xine to tune ATSC channels. (provided to replace /path/to with the actual path...) The scanning tool in that tarball will also try to build a channels.conf file for xine based on the OTA siganls it can find and decode.

Hope this helps.

Rusty
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:01 pm Reply with quote
PeterKnaggs
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 54




Jack's xine atsc_patch indeed works well for me here, thanks
for adding it to the downloads. I hadn't noticed it until you mentioned it here.
I'd been working off of the patch Jack posted to the xine-dev mailing list
back in July:
http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=12430910

I'm wondering is there a separate patch for the xine code which
lets you select the virtual channel (when playing back full captures)?

What I'm after, I guess, is the "-C" option in the xine-hd download from pcHDTV.
Does the plain xine have a similar option, or does it always need
to be patched in? It seems strange that mplayer has the "-tsprog"
flag to select the virtual channel, but I can't find any mention of
such an option or similar feature for plain xine.

I guess I could study the xine-hd code and make a standalone patch
to add the "-C" option back in to plain xine, but perhaps somebody has already
done that and I'm just missing it, so I though I'd ask here first Smile
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:03 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




I may be missing something here, are you using the V4L2 driver instead of the DVB driver? With the DVB driver and the latest Xine you can set up the channels.conf file to give you access to all of the sub channels you have available. You can even change the audio PID to use with each video PID to get SAP programming if you want it...

What am I missing???

Rusty
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:31 pm Reply with quote
PeterKnaggs
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 54




> With the DVB driver and the latest Xine you can set up the channels.conf
> file to give you access to all of the sub channels you have available.
> What am I missing???

Indeed, that's true.
Sorry I wasn't clear.
I am using the DVB drivers, and xine works fine as you describe for watching live TV.

I was thinking of playing back sub channels within previously-recorded full ATSC streams.

Now that Inkling's pchdtvr is working now with the DVB API,
and it's already well able to record a specific sub channel, I guess
it isn't so much of an issue.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:47 am Reply with quote
hobbieman
 
Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 11




Rusty (pcHDTV_tech): is it still necessary to patch the current xine (for fedora core 6: xine-0.99.4-8 ) as you described earlier in this thread in order for xine to let you tune/watch TV with the HD3000?

I have not patched xine and whenever I run: xine dvb:// I get an error that says: "no input plugin available to handle 'dvb://'"

Note: I have already created a ~/.xine/channels.conf file with the channel info.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:10 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




If your xine-lib is at 1.1.3 then you shouldn't need to patch it. However, my guess from your error message about "no plugin" is that you have an older version of xine-lib. Check fedoras software updater for an update of xine-lib or grab the latest from xinehq.de It will support ATSC right out of the box now.

Rusty
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:46 pm Reply with quote
hobbieman
 
Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 11




Rusty, thanks... I figured out the problem. One must also install the xine-lib-devel package! Otherwise, xine is missing certain plugins. And you are correct, no need to patch anymore.

Cheers.
View user's profile Send private message
silliest question ever: difference between xine and xine-hd?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> xine-hd
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin