Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Time Warner HDTV Digital Cable using a HD-5500 Goto page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
almost there
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:17 pm Reply with quote
Malibyte
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Simi Valley, CA, USA




OK, follow-up to the above.

Thanks to a suggestion from Nybbler, I was able to get all of my analog channels scanned in. Mythfilldatabase also (finally) grabbed ALL of the channel data, so I have listings for all of the unencrypted channels available. There are, of course, still some channels which I pay for but can't get over the raw cable, so I have one of the analog inputs being fed by the s-video output of the STB. Firewire works, also, but I only get the unencrypted channels, so it's fairly useless and I'm thinking about not using it.

Again, the machine is an Athlon 64 single core at 2.5GHz with 2G RAM, nVidia 6200-based video card, 5500 tuner card. Distro is Mandriva 2006, 64-bit, running MythTV 0.20a.

I have a spare partition available and I've installed Nybbler's home-brewed custom distro, which I will play with some more once I have everything working under Mandriva.


Successes:

(1) As above, I have all available unencrypted channels available to watch, including all available HD channels, with good 720p via the VGA output and only occasional slight audio stutter in HD.

(2) I can record any dvb channels; I can select recordings from either MythWeb or the Program guide.

(3) Other things (MythWeather, MythDVD) seem to work OK; I havent yet tested all of the other addons.

Problems:

(1) I can't seem to get the machine to record anything off the NTSC tuner unless I'm watching live TV and tell it to record the current program. This is my biggest headache at this point. It goes through the motions, but I wind up with a zero-byte file. Signal strength is not an issue. Here's a snip from the log at the time of a botched recording attempt (I think it seems to have a problem switching to the NTSC tuner to start the recording; it doesn't seem to have any problems switching to the dvb tuner):

Code:

2007-01-05 13:59:02.959 TVRec(1): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
2007-01-05 13:59:02.963 TVRec(1): HW Tuner: 1->1
2007-01-05 13:59:04.027 ret_pid(0) child(31516) status(0x0)
2007-01-05 13:59:05.039 ret_pid(31516) child(31516) status(0x0)
2007-01-05 13:59:05.041 External Tuning program exited with no error
2007-01-05 13:59:05.109 Started recording: Night Stalker "Timeless": channel 1057 on cardid 1, sourceid 1
2007-01-05 13:59:05.110 FireRec: Buffered packets 2350 (9400 KB)
2007-01-05 13:59:05.119 scheduler: Started recording: Night Stalker "Timeless": channel 1057 on cardid 1, sourceid 1
2007-01-05 13:59:10.468 JobQueue: Commercial Flagging Starting for Night Stalker "Timeless" recorded from channel 1057 at Fri Jan 5 13:59:00 2007
2007-01-05 13:59:10.475 commflag: Commercial Flagging Starting: Night Stalker "Timeless" recorded from channel 1057 at Fri Jan 5 13:59:00 2007
2007-01-05 13:59:10.639 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2007-01-05 13:59:10.661 New DB connection, total: 1
2007-01-05 13:59:10.683 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-01-05 13:59:10.702 New DB connection, total: 2
2007-01-05 13:59:10.712 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-01-05 13:59:17.217 RingBuf(/mythtv/recordings/1057_20070105135900.mpg): Invalid file (fd -1) when opening '/mythtv/recordings/1057_20070105135900.mpg'.
2007-01-05 13:59:17.225 Connecting to backend server: 192.168.1.9:6543 (try 1 of 5)
2007-01-05 13:59:17.231 Using protocol version 30
2007-01-05 13:59:17.232 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2007-01-05 13:59:17.233 adding: vader.malibyte.net as a client (events: 0)
2007-01-05 13:59:17.234 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2007-01-05 13:59:17.250 adding: vader.malibyte.net as a client (events: 1)
2007-01-05 13:59:20.145 FireRec: No Input in 15 seconds [P:0 N:2] (select)
2007-01-05 13:59:31.290 NVP::OpenFile(): Error, file not found: /mythtv/recordings/1057_20070105135900.mpg
2007-01-05 13:59:31.321 commflag: Commercial Flagging Finished: Night Stalker "Timeless" recorded from channel 1057 at Fri Jan 5 13:59:00 2007: 0 commercial break(s)
2007-01-05 13:59:31.325 JobQueue: Commercial Flagging Finished, 0 break(s) found.
2007-01-05 13:59:31.328 Preview Error: Previewer file '/mythtv/recordings/1057_20070105135900.mpg' is not valid.



(2) Audio on the NTSC/analog side is terrible...tinny and with high-end distortion/"ringing".

(3) Sometimes Mythfrontend segfaults when I'm flipping through the tuners (dvb -> analog -> s-video -> firewire); it seems to be random as to which one it crashes on.

(4) Since updating to the latest nVidia driver (9746), clicking on "backend status" in MythWeb crashes the X server. I can ssh in from another machine but can't kill it or reboot the box. Anyone else seen this?

(5) I haven't figured out how to get the audio input set up from the STB for the s-video input. Currently I have a line out from the 5500 into the line-in jack on my sound card (Audigy 2 ZS) for the NTSC channels; I have tried a "Y" connection for the 5500 and the s-video on the line-in jack on the sound card, but that won't work, since the audio for all of the v4l sub-devices has to come from the 5500 card. Can someone clue me in as to how to get the sound for the s-video input working?

(6) I have a couple of dvb channels which are mis-configured. Is there an easy way to delete and re-scan just a couple of channels? I don't want to screw up my otherwise finally-working channel database.


Questions:

(1) Can someone point me to a URL for the LATEST HowTo on setting up the Recording Groups ("default", "High Quality", etc.) and setting up Storage Groups? Currently I have a 768GB LVM group. Is it possible to set up a recording profile for analog channels, another for dvb, and another for the s-video input?

(2) Once I get all of this working, I have a Harmony 550 remote. I have a USB IR receiver....can I just plug it in, configure lirc, program the remote (I'm told that it works fine with Myth if it's told that it's a Windoze MCE box)?

(3) Anyone have a working modeline for 1080i on a Samsung DLP TV?


Thanks very much -- Bob

_________________
"Software is like sex. It's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:32 pm Reply with quote
Malibyte
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Simi Valley, CA, USA




OK, to test this again, I scheduled a recording on an NTSC channel, which
was to start while I was watching another show on a dvb channel.

One minute before, the option screen came up, and I chose the option to
watch the ntsc channel while recording. It tried to change channels, but
did not try to change tuners first...it couldn't get a channel lock on the
target channel, since it was still on the dvb side.

This looks like a configuration issue. What am I missing here? It
doesn't seem to matter whether "open DVB on demand" is checked or not.

It also doesn't seem to matter if I pick "preferred input - ntsc" when
scheduling the recording from the program guide.

How do I get Myth to tell this card to change to the analog tuner for the
NTSC channels? It would be really sweet if there were an option in the
channel table to tell it which tuner is assigned to each channel, so the s/w
would change tuners first before trying to change channels for recording.

Thanks for any assistance...Bob


Bob Sully wrote:

> Problems:
>
> (1) I can't seem to get the machine to record anything off the NTSC tuner
> unless I'm watching live TV and tell it to record the current program.
> This is my biggest headache at this point. It goes through the motions,
> but I wind up with a zero-byte file. Signal strength is not an issue.
> Here's a snip from the log at the time of a botched recording attempt (I
> think it seems to have a problem switching to the NTSC tuner to start the
> recording; it doesn't seem to have any problems switching to the dvb
> tuner):

_________________
"Software is like sex. It's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:46 pm Reply with quote
Malibyte
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Simi Valley, CA, USA




Do I need to set up separate video sources for each tuner (e.g. two separate Zap2It accounts or profiles)???

Trying to get this figured out is driving me nucking futs.

_________________
"Software is like sex. It's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:11 pm Reply with quote
Malibyte
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Simi Valley, CA, USA




Malibyte wrote:
Do I need to set up separate video sources for each tuner (e.g. two separate Zap2It accounts or profiles)???

Trying to get this figured out is driving me nucking futs.



Follow-up;

I did set up separate video sources for each tuner, and all's now well.

_________________
"Software is like sex. It's better when it's free." - Linus Torvalds
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Re: Time Warner HDTV Digital Cable using a HD-5500
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:36 pm Reply with quote
bowerymarc
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Location: New York




pcHDTV_tech wrote:
According to another post on the forum, Time Warner also uses 8VSB for their modulation type instead of QAM so you will need to get a little tricky to scan for channels you might receive.


Well this is not true of Time Warner in New York. Install dvb-utils and try:

scan -A 3 /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB

and you'll get no channels picked up.

If you try

scan -A 2 /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256

and you'll get a bunch, and to save time and get a better list do:

scan -A 2 /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-NY-TWC-NYC

(I stumbled on this here: http://wiki.morphine.tv/tiki-index.php?page=create+a+channels.conf )

you can see the same thing doing

dtvscan -q

versus

dtvscan

you'll see channels with QAM and not VSB (btw dtvscan doesn't seem able to get the channel names at all, while scan can...)
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:35 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




The channel frequencies are different between the us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB and us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256 files, so even if you had 8-VSB channels on your cable, you wouldn't find them that way, unless they happened to be the few channels that have the same frequency.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:30 am Reply with quote
bowerymarc
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Location: New York




xyzzy wrote:
The channel frequencies are different between the us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB and us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256 files, so even if you had 8-VSB channels on your cable, you wouldn't find them that way, unless they happened to be the few channels that have the same frequency.


btw I also tried the ATSC-center-frequencies-8VSB with the same result - nothing.

But if you can supply any evidence for 8VSB channels on TWCNYC and the way to show them, I'm all ears!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:43 am Reply with quote
nybbler
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 125




It's quite possible that TWC has switched to QAM; the info that they were using 8VSB was pretty old, and there's sound technical reasons for them to use QAM. If the stations that you could receive over the air are on QAM now, they've probably switched.
View user's profile Send private message
Time Warner HDTV Digital Cable using a HD-5500
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 2 of 2  
Goto page Previous  1, 2
  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin