Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> HDTV channels in dtvscan but NOT in MythTV Setup with 5500?
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
HDTV channels in dtvscan but NOT in MythTV Setup with 5500?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:38 pm Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




When I run ./dtvscan, I get the following

dtvscan ver 1.0.4 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002,2005,2006
Attempting to open /dev/dtv
Opened FE:/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0 3
Opened DMX:/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0 4
Opened DVR:/dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0 5
channel = 2 VSB_8
Signal: 80
look for sync
PAT found ckets
WGCL-HD:57000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
channel = 3 VSB_8
Signal: 47
Signal: 83
look for sync
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
WSB-DT_:63000000:8VSB:0x11:0x14:0x01
WSB-DT_:63000000:8VSB:0x21:0x24:0x02
channel = 4 VSB_8
Signal: 55
look for sync
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
WXIA-DT:69000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
WXIA-SD:69000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
channel = 5 VSB_8
Signal: 30
Signal: 85
look for sync
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
WTBS-HD:79000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
channel = 6 VSB_8
Signal: 38
Signal: 81
look for sync
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
WAGA-HD:85000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
WAGA-SD:85000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
channel = 7 VSB_8
^Xchannel = 8 VSB_8
channel = 9 VSB_8
channel = 10 VSB_8
channel = 11 VSB_8
Signal: 47
Signal: 85
look for sync
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
WAGA-HD:201000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
WAGA-SD:201000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04


I assume this means the card is picking up the HD channels, but when I run the different scans when trying to setup my MythTV, I keep getting "Timeout Scanning ATSC Channel XX -- No Signal"

I chose my card type as "pcHDTV DTV capture card (w/4VL drivers)" and got nothing. I also tried "DVB DTV capture card (v3.x)" and got nothing. What am I doing wrong??

Also, there are (2) 5500 cards installed and I want to use them both for HD and Analog recording/playback. Is there anything special I need to do?

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 7:28 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Do not use the pchdtv v4l drivers. You should be using the dvb driver. I have the HD-3000, so I can't tell you what it should say if your HD-5500 is recognized.

Is the driver module loaded? You need the cx88-dvb. Enter: lsmod (as root) and it will show the modules loaded. If not, enter: modprobe cx88-dvb.

You also should have a current kernel version.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:28 am Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




waterhead wrote:
Do not use the pchdtv v4l drivers. You should be using the dvb driver. I have the HD-3000, so I can't tell you what it should say if your HD-5500 is recognized.

Is the driver module loaded? You need the cx88-dvb. Enter: lsmod (as root) and it will show the modules loaded. If not, enter: modprobe cx88-dvb.

You also should have a current kernel version.


I now have found the HD channels using the DVB driver, but now I can't get it to caputure the standard cable QAM-64 channels. When I look at the input connections in MythTV, it shows DVB:1 and then below it, it shows [V4L:/dev/video1], which i assume is the analog portion of the card, but when I try to scan the channels, it returns nothing. Do I need to use the DVB driver for HD and then use the V4L drivers by "adding" another capture card under the V4L drivers?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:43 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I haven't tried to set up both tuners in my card. Other posters on this subject say that you set up the analog side within the dvb set up (like you have seen). I think that you now need to set up the inputs and stuff. You shouldn't need to add another card.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
HDTV channels in dtvscan but NOT in MythTV Setup with 5500?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin