Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> analog channels
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
analog channels
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 3:56 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




Hi all, I'm not really sure how this would work so I'm posting to see if anyone else has any knowledge of how to do this.

I have a mythtv backend box all setup with a off-the-shelf HDTV antenna. There's no problems there. I can view TV, ect. What I want to know is how do I get it to receive analog channels.

I use zaptoit labs to get my antenna channel listings. It lists analog and digital channels. I know for a fact that I can receive analog channels if I just plug the antenna into the TV....it's not an hdtv Sad

But when I do a channel scan on the server, I can not see a single analog channel. And if I do the scan in mythtv setup, it adds all of the digital channels from my list in zaptoit and unchecks the analog ones.

Anyone know what I'm missing? Is there a different setting that I need for the analog channels to show? Thanks in advance.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 7:39 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I haven't tried it 'cause analog pictures are horrible. But I'm pretty sure that you have to set up the analog seperately from the digital. You will need a seperate zap2it account for the analog channels, and then use that when setting them up.

When you set up the digital side of the card, there is a choice in there to use it for analog too. There then will be a V4L device listed in the Input Connections section. You will then have to map it correctly.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 12:53 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




Thanks, You're right, there's a V4L analog input option. I scanned my channels and bingo!

Now I just have to get my backend running again Embarassed startup script doesn't seem to want to work...
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 6:44 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Depending on which distro you are running, you may be able to enable it as a "service".

Also, to use the analog part of the card, it may help if you select the box where it says to open the card on demand. There is another change to a configuration file. You have to change a setting, some sort of "timeout" setting. If you can find the posts on it in this forum full of spam, you're a better man than I

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 7:26 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I found a thread with the info that I was refering to. It is dvb_shutdown_timeout:
http://pchdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5092

Paul

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:09 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




Thanks for the tips waterhead. I now understand how to get analog channels. I've tried my setup using an "Analog V4L capture card" as the card, which records .nuvs but my main frontend (an xbox) is having trouble with .nuv even though they play fine on a PC.

I was using the "DVB DTV capture card" option before to get my digital channels and those played fine, if not a bit slow, on the xbox because they were .mpgs

I saw an analog option in the DVB card settings, and that seemed to work. I figured if DVB digital worked, maybe DVB analog would work to. I was able to scan for channels under the DVB card and find analog channels and set them up. But when mythtv goes to record something, it throws errors in the console and sounds like it can't start the recording. Can anyone make anything of these errors?



2007-05-22 22:59:12.809 Reschedule requested for id 11.
2007-05-22 22:59:12.837 Scheduled 1 items in 0.0 = 0.01 match + 0.01 place
2007-05-22 22:59:12.951 TVRec(1): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
2007-05-22 22:59:12.954 TVRec(1): HW Tuner: 2->2
2007-05-22 22:59:12.959 DVBChan(0) Error: SetChannelByString(21): Failed to init ialize multiplex options
2007-05-22 22:59:12.959 TVRec(1) Error: Failed to set channel to 21. Reverting t o kState_None
2007-05-22 22:59:12.960 TVRec(1): Changing from RecordingOnly to None
2007-05-22 22:59:12.968 Canceled recording (Recorder Failed): LiveTV KQDS "Tue M ay 22 22:59:00 2007": channel 1021 on cardid 1, sourceid 1
2007-05-22 22:59:13.986 Reschedule requested for id 0.
2007-05-22 22:59:13.998 Scheduled 1 items in 0.0 = 0.00 match + 0.01 place
2007-05-22 22:59:16.062 Error deleting '/GetPlaybackURL/UNABLE/TO/FIND/LOCAL/FIL E/ON/mythbox/1021_20070522225900.mpg': No such file or directory
2007-05-22 22:59:16.070 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2007-05-22 22:59:16.070 adding: 192.168.0.107 as a client (events: 0)
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:25 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




It looks like it is having a problem tuning in an analog channel. It's trying to tune to channel 1021, that doesn't sound like an analog channel. Are you watching cable? Is the tuner then set to receive cable frequencies?

It does have to shut down the digital side of the card before it can use the analog side. This is usually where people have trouble, and I have no cure for it.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 5:39 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




Thanks, my box should be setup to receive us-b-cast, but I'm going to go through and check again. I'll let you know. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 3:12 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




Everything looks fine...frequencies were set to us-bcast, it can see the channels when it scans, it just can't start the recording. I also tried the "use tuner on demand" feature, which didn't help at all Sad
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:40 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




So I've made some progress in my quest for analog channels. But I seem to have stopped at yet another error message that I do not understand. Maybe someone could shed some light on it.

Quote:
2007-07-16 19:34:56.836 TVRec(7): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
2007-07-16 19:34:56.839 TVRec(7): HW Tuner: 8->8
2007-07-16 19:34:56.849 DTVMux, Error: Could not find tuning parameters for mplex 32767
2007-07-16 19:34:56.850 DVBChan(0) Error: SetChannelByString(3): Failed to initialize multiplex options
2007-07-16 19:34:56.850 TVRec(7) Error: Failed to set channel to 3. Reverting to kState_None
2007-07-16 19:34:56.850 TVRec(7): Changing from RecordingOnly to None
2007-07-16 19:34:56.859 Canceled recording (Recorder Failed): LiveTV KDLH "Mon Jul 16 19:35:00 2007": channel 1003 on cardid 7, sourceid 1



What does it mean by multiplex options?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:19 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I don't believe that multiplexing is used in the NTSC analog format. Multiplexing is to combine several feeds and transmit them as one. This is done by some digital stations.

At the end of your error message it refers to "channel 1003". This is not an analog style channel number. It does look like a digital channel number.

These two things leave me to believe that MythTV is still trying to access the analog channels using the digital side of the card. Something must be wrong with the tuners setup. Maybe when you map the tuner to the source (in mythtv-setup). Double check that the analog tuner is mapped to the analog source, and the digital tuner to a digital source. I needed two zap3it accounts to accomplish this.

Paul

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:45 pm Reply with quote
draggy
 
Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 7




For now, I don't even care about the digital channels, all I really want is analog. I don't understand why it keeps trying to go to 1003 :\

I've installed the drivers given to me from this site and I know digital channels work. Do you remember how you setup your analog card waterhead?

For me, When I run mythtv setup, I do...

capture card setup->DVB DTV capture card->analog options(video on /dev/video0, sound on dev/dsp, default input on television)

video sources->north america (datadirect....zap2it labs)->retrieve lineups
I only have analog stations selected on my account.

Input Connections->V4L: /dev/video0 - (Television)->choose my video source, and then hit "fetch channels from listing source....it then puts in my starting channel as 3

The channels show up in channel editor, and then I run mythfilldatabase. start up the server...try to record, and nothing....


Thanks for all your help waterhead. I'm new to tv tuner cards and really don't know what I'm doing regarding those, but I've been learning Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:04 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299





_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:38 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




waterhead wrote:
I think that the correct one is BT878, or something like that.

For the HD-2000, the analog tv driver is bttv. For the HD-3000 and HD-5500 it is cx8800.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:10 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Thanks for correcting me on that. I don't use that side of the card much, so I wasn't sure.

Paul

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
analog channels
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin