Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> PCHDTV Sees No Signal While HDTV Does
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
PCHDTV Sees No Signal While HDTV Does
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:48 pm Reply with quote
mfdii
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 1




I pretty much have my 5500 setup with mythtv with the exception of one channel not showing up. I have even managed to get the infamous WBBM-DT (Chicago's low powered, low-band VHF HD station - google for more info on how hard this is to tune in). My only problem is that I cant tune in ATSC channel 29 (WMAQ-DT NBC5). My Samsung DLP is showing a signal strength of about 70% and the reception is fine, but dtvsignal shows nothing:
Code:
[root@myth dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.4]# ./dtvsignal -dvb 0 29
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
tuning to 563000000 Hz
video pid 0x0021, audio pid 0x0024
dtvsignal ver 1.0.4 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002,2005,2006
channel = 29 freq = 563000000Hz
 30db       0%         25%         50%         75%        100%
Signal:     |     .     :     .     |     ._____:_____._____|
Signal: 000 .


I am using the Fedora/Mandriva 2.6.17 drivers posted on the download page.

Code:

[root@myth dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.4]# uname -a
Linux myth.blah.com 2.6.17-5mdv #1 SMP Wed Sep 13 14:32:31 EDT 2006 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) MP 2200+ GNU/Linux


Any thoughts?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:06 am Reply with quote
tjkolev
 
Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 1




Hello!

I have the same problem - can't tune channel 29. Have you found a solution?

I read a possible way to fix this is by setting the correct frequency under "Transport Editor" in the backend setup. (This is also the fix if some channels don't tune nicely). But I don't know what frequency to put for channel 29. All I have found was a "band" of frequencies that are allocated to channel 29.

tjk Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:28 pm Reply with quote
nybbler
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 125




Channel 29 should be tuned at 563MHz (center of the channel), just like dtvsignal says.

Possibly there's some strong local interference source at that frequency generated inside the computer?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:52 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Although I am not entirely sure on this, I think that the UHF band frequencies will remain the same. I cannot find any reference to new DTV channel frequency assignments.

Here is a link to a site with channel frequen cy assignments:
http://www.answers.com/topic/north-american-broadcast-television-frequencies

Paul

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:49 am Reply with quote
diesel12
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 7




I have an HVR-950 that receives channels that my HD5500 does not. I think we need to start screaming for some support and a resolution to this problem. I didn't pay $129 for a card that receives only part of the channels in my area. I'd have rather spent a little more for a HD homerun that gets all the channels and has two tuners. Prove me wrong guys, but this seems to be what I get for trying to support Linux hardware. Crying or Very sad
________
300


Last edited by diesel12 on Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:18 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




Have you tried to see what is different with the channels you don't get? Like are they are on the same frequency, and you don't get any other channels on that frequency? Do they use a different modulation? Have you checked to see if you can lock on to anything on their frequency(ies)? What is the SNR value at that frequency vs other frequencies, as measured with the HVR-950?

BTW, Hauppauge supports Linux too.
View user's profile Send private message
PCHDTV Sees No Signal While HDTV Does
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin