Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> MythTV - PCHD-5500 - Ubuntu Feisty - maybe impossible Goto page Previous  1, 2
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:33 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Your making it harder than it actually is.

In this directory:
/usr/share/dvb/scan/atsc

You will find these files:
us-ATSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
us-Cable-EIA-542-HRC-center-frequencies-QAM256
us-Cable-EIA-542-IRC-center_frequencies-QAM256
us-Cable-HRC-center-frequencies-QAM256
us-Cable-IRC-center-frequencies-QAM256
us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256
us-CA-SF-Bay-Area
us-ID-Boise
us-MA-Boston
us-MI-Lansing
us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
us-NY-TWC-NYC
us-PA-Philadelphia

Unless you are lucky enough to live in an area that has a pre-configured file, you would use the one that best fits your setup.

I'm not sure which cable one you should use. You can try them all, as it is painless. You then output it as a channels.conf file

Here are the directions on how to do it:
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Dvbscan

Here are more instructions:
http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Scan

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:18 pm Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




an addenum is that your cmd line should be this.

Code:
scan us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256
making sure your working directory is /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/. It should then commence a scan across the entire frequency range. Copy the output (as in highlight the output of the scan) in the terminal and paste it into a new text file. Save it as channels.conf.

My Reference is this one from the MythTV guide. I used it to add the HD channels MythTV gave the No Tables problem to.

Anybody know how the MythTV scanner works? Maybe I should file a bug report about it.

EDIT: Fixed Link

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
Wow, tried that...And got something. (Edit)
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:58 pm Reply with quote
pksings
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 9




EDIT... I let the QAM-256 US Standard run to completion and it output a bunch of channels, none of which are named according to the documentation included in the two links about how to use tzap.

I also ran the NTSC one for QAM-256 and appended the output of that to the same channels.conf.

I then found the link that told me how to turn that output into useful data and did so. Which also included info about a script file that actually uses that data and scans through the channels and captures an avi from each to confirm they work.

The results are ....

Tue Dec 18 07:09:53 PST 2007 | 1 start scan..
Tue Dec 18 07:10:23 PST 2007 | 1 ended!
Tue Dec 18 07:10:23 PST 2007 | 1 end scan..
Tue Dec 18 07:10:23 PST 2007 | We gots nothin!
through
Tue Dec 18 04:05:03 PST 2007 | 711 start scan..
Tue Dec 18 04:05:33 PST 2007 | 711 ended!
Tue Dec 18 04:05:33 PST 2007 | 711 end scan..
Tue Dec 18 04:05:33 PST 2007 | We gots nothin!

channels 1 through 711 all had nothing that it could interpret as a picture.

I thought we were making headway, but now I'm not so sure.

It seems to more I do the less I know...

------------------------------------------------


Last edited by pksings on Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:22 am; edited 3 times in total
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:04 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




That one (8VSB) is for OTA signals. Unless you have an antenna hooked up to it, you won't get any reception.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:23 pm Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




You need to use the QAM 256 for Cable transmissions. Use the cmd line I pasted.

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
The next steps....
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:07 pm Reply with quote
pksings
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 9




I moved this down from my previous post I edited before so you all will realize that I have done something.

I let the QAM-256 US Standard run to completion and it output a bunch of channels, none of which are named according to the documentation included in the two links about how to use tzap.

I also ran the NTSC one for QAM-256 and appended the output of that to the same channels.conf.

I then found the link that told me how to turn that output into useful data and did so. Which also included info about a script file that actually uses that data and scans through the channels and captures an avi from each to confirm they work.

channels 1 through 711 all had nothing that it could interpret as a picture.

I thought we were making headway, but now I'm not so sure.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:22 pm Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




Sorry for the delay in responding. Holidays brought me home.

Anyways, try using IRC and HRC QAM's that are on the link I posted.

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
And Finally
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:09 pm Reply with quote
pksings
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 9




An update to the kernel came out last week from Ubuntu.

It fixed most of my problems, it now shows TV just fine in both TVtime and Mythtv. Mythtv won't change channels, it hangs, the process dies and then I have to manually kill the hung process in a terminal window. But that is not this forum.

Bottom line, the drivers in the shipping version of Fiesty Ubuntu are no good, they initialize the card but it doesn't work. The newer updated kernel has drivers that actually work.

As a side point, the picture is horrible, adjusting the contrast down to 25% makes it watcheable, I had to use TVtime to do that.

Thanks everyone.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:57 pm Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




Glad to hear you hung in there. Hopefully you'll be up and running soon.

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
MythTV - PCHD-5500 - Ubuntu Feisty - maybe impossible
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 2 of 2  
Goto page Previous  1, 2
  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin