Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> recording (backend) system requirements
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
recording (backend) system requirements
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:28 am Reply with quote
ronw
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 3




I picked up a new-in-the-box HD3000 from a friend who never got around to using it.

I would be recording for playback on a laptop, so all I am interested in is setting a record only (backend) PC.

Someone I know is using a VIA C7 800 MHz with a WinTV card for recording, but I get the impression that something more powerful would be needed for use with the HD3000.

What can anyone recommend?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 am Reply with quote
rjp
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 9




If you're only recording digital signals, the C7 should be just fine - but commercial flagging jobs will be slow. If you're recording analog channels, I'm not sure how well the C7 would handle it. An old Athlon XP 2100+ that I have can handle analog recording at about 40% CPU load.

_________________
Oh no! You have walked into the slavering fangs of a lurking grue!
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:32 am Reply with quote
ronw
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 3




Thanks.

Um, actually, it was a Via C3, 800 MHz.

Looks like I could get a 1.3 GHz version of the same.

So, I am correct that the HD3000 requires more CPU power for recording than a WinTV PVR 150?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:40 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




You may want to go with the larger CPU. The specs for the card call for a 1200MHz CPU.
http://www.pchdtv.com/hd_3000_right_down.html

HD broadcasts are in a form of MPEG, so there is no transcoding involved. It just dumps the program to a file. SD (analog) broadcasts need to be encoded to save as a file, and require more CPU for this.

I would be more concerned about the laptop that you are going to play the files on. I have a Dell Inspiron with a P4 2.8GHz CPU, and it won't display the HD video. That is because it only has Intel onboard graphics. You need nVidia graphics, or maybe ATI MAY work.

Also, HD recordings run around 7GB/hour, so make sure that you have a large hard drive. Recording a football game can use up 28GB, (I pad it 1/2 hour in case of overtime).

I'm not sure how you will be recording and viewing HD. If you are using MythTV, make sure that you select DVB as the type, NOT the pcHDTV3000. This is because the pcHDTV selection will use the V4L drivers instead of the DVB drivers.

Also, make sure that you download the firmware for the card, and put it in the /lib/firmware folder. The driver that the card uses is the cx88-dvb, and you can modprobe it if it fails to load automatically.

That should get you started. Another good way to watch HDTV is with the Kaffeine program. I set up a AverMedia A180 card to use Kaffeine, the process would be the same with the HD3000. If your interested, here is a link to the posts where I give the details.
http://hftom.free.fr/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=501#501

Good luck. Smile

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:32 am Reply with quote
ronw
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 3




Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:46 am Reply with quote
kathi
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2014
Posts: 1




I am trying to do just that and so far the HD3000 is recognized by the OS (Fedora Core 6) and I am able to record using pchdtvr.

_________________
We offer best quality TK0-201 practice test latest resource ASQ
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:36 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Old thread, with mostly outdated info.

If you are actually using Fedora Core 6, then you will have nothing but trouble. It is from 2006. I would suggest you use a new distro, and one with MythTV preinstalled, like Mythbuntu 14.04. It should have the firmware in it, so you shouldn't have to install it separately but I'm not positive.

I got rid of my pchdtv card years ago. It has an older tuner, and I wanted a card with newer chips.
View user's profile Send private message
recording (backend) system requirements
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin