Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> New HD-5500 can't get any channels for analog or digital
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
New HD-5500 can't get any channels for analog or digital
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:59 pm Reply with quote
redbeard
 
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 5




I just got my new HD-5500 in the mail today to put in my MythTV backend, and I cannot get it working at all.

I live in a dorm room with our cable provided for free. It is Cox cable here in San Diego, CA, and is just a standard coax output in a wall plate. If I plug this coax output into my 40" HDTV, the TV will scan and pick up all of the analog cable channels fine, along with 6 local digital HD channels (NBC, ABC, Fox, etc.), about 20 audio-only digital channels, and a few random digital channels for movie previews or whatever.

However, plugging that same coax line into my new card gets me absolutely nothing. TVTime just shows a blank blue screen and won't get any signal for the analog channels. Scanning channels in MythTV for analog or digital is just one loooooong stream of timeouts. If I import the schedules direct channel data into MythTV, I will get nothing but static if I try and watch TV.

Running dtvscan will produce the following:
channel = 2 VSB_8
channel = 3 VSB_8
channel = 4 VSB_8
etc etc etc
While if I run it with the -q option, it will give the following instead:
channel = 2 QAM_256
channel = 2 QAM_64
channel = 3 QAM_256
channel = 3 QAM_64
channel = 4 QAM_256
channel = 4 QAM_64
etc etc
And either way if will write a 0 byte, empty channels file if I tell it to.

atscscan will say the following for every conceivable configuration option:
Tuning to channel 2 (57.0000 MHz): ###### Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 3 (63.0000 MHz): ###### Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 4 (69.0000 MHz): ###### Unable to tune channel
etc

I have done literally every single configuration option I can find. The card is being detected in Linux without issue and as far as I can tell is working fine. I have tried this with two different cable jacks in my dorm apartments and both do the same thing. dmesg doesn't tell me anything of relevance.

I am at my wit's end trying to get this thing working. I literally just got it today and I am already thinking of returning it or selling it because it should simply not be this incredibly frustrating to setup. I'm at a loss for ideas to try and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:12 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Try scanning for channels using the terminal program azap. It is part of the dvb-utils (or dvb-apps) package. You will need to create a channels.conf file.
Here is a How-To from the MythTV wiki:

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Adding_Digital_Cable_Channels_%28For_ATSC/QAM_Tuner_Cards_--_USA/Canada%29

You can also use Kaffeine to watch HDTV, Here is a thread on their forum where I chronicled my process on another dvb card. The process is the same with the HD-5500.
http://hftom.free.fr/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=501#501

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:43 am Reply with quote
redbeard
 
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 5




I've already tried using dvbscan. Unsurprisingly, it picks up absolutely no channels so I could not create a channels.conf using every single one of the us- profiles.

I've even tried disabling all of the kernel DVB/V4L modules and compiling and installing the latest version of v4l-dvb straight from CVS. Still does not work.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:58 pm Reply with quote
redbeard
 
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 5




A few more things I've tried:

I rebuilt the kernel with full I2C support for my motherboard chipset and no dice.

I put the card into my HTPC (which was just running mythfrontend) and it does the same thing there.

I tried hooking up my old Xbox to the composite input and that worked fine, I can view it fine and everything in tvtime. But when I use an old Coax adapter for my Xbox, that does not work.

I'm about to try booting off the Mythbuntu 8.04 beta liveCD and seeing if that works. Previously I've been trying this on two systems each running Gentoo.

I'm beginning to suspect that this may be an issue with the coax jack on the card itself. I just can't think of any other reason for nothing whatsoever being plugged into the coax jack working. I have an old VCR lying around that I guess I will try hooking up and seeing if I get anywhere with running the cable signal through it then into the card if Mythbuntu doesn't work.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:07 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Have you tried hooking an antenna to it? This will tell you if the card is functioning as it is suppose to.

I don't mess with trying to get digital cable on a computer. Usually everything except for the local channels is encrypted. The picture quality from OTA is usually superior to the cable anyway.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:20 pm Reply with quote
redbeard
 
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 5




I tried Mythbuntu and it worked perfectly fine in there; I was able to tune the channels and everything.

Narrowing it down, I figured out that for some reason the tuner module wasn't loading. I built it right into the kernel and it worked fine after that.

I then had to make sure dvb_pll was loading before all of the other modules in order for the tuner to lock onto a signal.

So now I finally got it to show up in MythTV. I still have three problems however, mainly with the analog input:

1.) The audio is all messed up. It sounds really garbly and weird and I can just barely make out the voices. It also only comes out of the rear speakers instead of the front. This seems to be a well known problem, but I think I've got all of the options enabled (as said below) that were supposed to fix it. I'm going to try instead using the audio passthrough cable but if that doesn't fix it I don't know where to go.

2.) I can change channels fine the first few times, but after 6 or 7 changes, the channel suddenly drops out to all static with occasional flashes of the image in between. If I switch to another station, it does the same thing. I have to switch interfaces to DVB and then back to analog for it to work. Additionally, dmesg gives me the following when this happens:

Code:

cx88[0]: video y / packed - dma channel status dump
cx88[0]:   cmds: initial risc: 0xcec04000
cx88[0]:   cmds: cdt base    : 0x00180440
cx88[0]:   cmds: cdt size    : 0x0000000c
cx88[0]:   cmds: iq base     : 0x00180400
cx88[0]:   cmds: iq size     : 0x00000010
cx88[0]:   cmds: risc pc     : 0xb59f4958
cx88[0]:   cmds: iq wr ptr   : 0x00000109
cx88[0]:   cmds: iq rd ptr   : 0x0000010d
cx88[0]:   cmds: cdt current : 0x00000478
cx88[0]:   cmds: pci target  : 0xb5890440
cx88[0]:   cmds: line / byte : 0x00f00000
cx88[0]:   risc0: 0x80008200 [ sync resync count=512 ]
cx88[0]:   risc1: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   risc2: 0xbcd903c0 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   risc3: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 0: 0xbcd90b40 [ writerm sol eol 23 22 20 19 cnt0 count=2880 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 1: 0x1c0003c0 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 2: 0xbcd912c0 [ arg #2 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 3: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 4: 0xbcd91a40 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 5: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 6: 0xaf9821c0 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 7: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 8: 0xaf982940 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 9: 0xbcdaf900 [ writerm sol eol 23 22 20 19 cnt1 resync 14 13 12 count=2304 ]
cx88[0]:   iq a: 0x1c0003c0 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq b: 0xb5890080 [ arg #2 ]
cx88[0]:   iq c: 0x80008200 [ sync resync count=512 ]
cx88[0]:   iq d: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq e: 0xbcd903c0 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]:   iq f: 0x1c0003c0 [ write sol eol count=960 ]
cx88[0]:   iq 10: 0x00180c00 [ arg #1 ]
cx88[0]: fifo: 0x00180c00 -> 0x183400
cx88[0]: ctrl: 0x00180400 -> 0x180460
cx88[0]:   ptr1_reg: 0x00181f10
cx88[0]:   ptr2_reg: 0x00180498
cx88[0]:   cnt1_reg: 0x00000010
cx88[0]:   cnt2_reg: 0x00000000
cx88[0]/0: [ffff8100af905200/2] timeout - dma=0xb59f4000
cx88[0]/0: [ffff8100af905000/3] timeout - dma=0xb9408000
cx88[0]/0: [ffff810129196c00/4] timeout - dma=0xaf8ce000
cx88[0]/0: [ffff8100af905600/0] timeout - dma=0xcec04000
cx88[0]/0: [ffff8100af905400/1] timeout - dma=0xb949e000


3. Watching live TV on my remote HTPC frontend causes lots of stuttering on the Digital channels (and a tiny bit on analog), although I think this may be due to software/network issues as it works fine on the backend.

I have Myth set to a 48000 sampling rate and Open DVB on Demand, but I read that recently in 0.21 instead of having the DVB card have an "analog options" section, I instead have to make two capture interfaces- one analog and one DVB. There is no Open DVB on Demand option for the analog interface. I also have the dvb_core dvb_shutdown_timeout=0 option enabled.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:06 pm Reply with quote
redbeard
 
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 5




I somewhat fixed the audio issue as I forgot that the individual recording options needed to be set to 48000 as well. Now the audio is a lot more clear, but it is VERY tinny-sounding. I'll try it with Uncompressed PCM sound later and see if that improves things. I still need to try the audio passthrough cable as well.

The second problem wherein the channels drop out on analog still happens. Worse, occasionally, when switching from Digital to Analog, it crashes the backend and I have to ssh in and restart it. The only possible solution I can see for this is to try the latest v4l-dvb drivers again instead of the built in kernel ones.

I also managed to fix the stuttering by swapping video cards- for some reason the onboard Intel X3500 just wasn't able to do HD watching, even though it handles 1080p x264 files mostly fine.
View user's profile Send private message
New HD-5500 can't get any channels for analog or digital
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin