Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> R420 Radeon X800 PRO and Nvidia 6200 max resolution
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
R420 Radeon X800 PRO and Nvidia 6200 max resolution
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:04 pm Reply with quote
harryr
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Broken Arrow, OK




It seems my Radeon X800 card's maximum resolution is 1600x1200 using open source driver (this maybe monitor limited). When I hook it up to my HD TV using the TV's PC D-SUB connector this mode is not understood. So, I dropped down to 1024x1280 which worked.

Full widescreen HD is 1920x1080. My TV PC input understands no inbetween resolution. I installed the ATI proprietary driver but it's max resolution was 1680x1050. FWIW even at my PC's lower usable resolutions the video still froze up with the proprietary ATI driver. My question is does anyone know if this card can get 1920x1080? Or where can I find out this info.

I also have a GeForce Nvidia 6200 card. Does this one support 1920x1080?
Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:00 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I have a nVidia GeForce 6200 in a MythTV box. It is feeding a 24" LCD display with a native resolution of 1920x1200. The resolution options do not include 1920x1080, but that may be dependent on the display that is hooked to it. The nVidia driver seems to sense the display, and give you the correct resolution options.

This is also dependent on the input. Whether it is VGA, DVI or HDMI. There are limits on some of the resolutions they can display, especially with VGA.

You should try the nVidia card and see. The nVidia driver is superior to the ATI driver, so as long as you have a nVidia card, I would just forget about using the ATI card in Linux.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:25 pm Reply with quote
harryr
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Broken Arrow, OK




I switched to the Nvidia 6200 card. Got it going on my desktop with the 19" monitor. I contacted SchedulesDirect to find out why I couldn't get anywhere with it. The owner? was very helpful. He checked my login account info since at first I suspected I simply couldn't log on. Once that was ruled out he reminded me I needed to log onto the SD web site and select OTA broadcast and enter my zip code so that SD would know my channel lineup. Once I did that MythTV had no problem grabbing the 2 weeks of scheduling info from SD.

When I switched output from my monitor to my TV, things were - almost - good. Everything worked. Sound was normal. The only problem was that the full-HD 1920x1080 video was updating at about 3 Hz. Waterhead, you hinted that this may be a limitation at my TV end. Hmmmm I'm not sure I want to keep plugging away. I have a good MythTV ($20/year for SD subscription: almost free) system on my smaller 19" monitor. But the biggest damper in this project is that through all this my wife was willing to subscribe to Cox digital cable including Cox DVR.

Thanks for your help waterhead. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:46 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I'm not sure that I understand what the problem now is. You say it is updating at 3Hz, I may be a little dumb about this, so explain further.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:37 pm Reply with quote
harryr
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Broken Arrow, OK




The video refresh rate is only 3X per second. Normal smooth video is 20-30X per second. Researching my brand of TV, I found a comment on internet that the D-SUB (VGA) was useful only up to 1024x768 resolution. It said to use the HDMI for full HD 1920x1080 resolution. I guess it's simple enough to try a DVI/HDMI cable and see what happens.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:01 pm Reply with quote
harryr
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Location: Broken Arrow, OK




[Subject Solved]
Simple enough but not cheap! After putting out $50 + tax for a Radio Shack DVI to HDMI cable I tried my MythTV again using that connection rather than the VGA D-SUB. It worked great! Smile Thanks for all the help along the way waterhead. I'm using the Nvidia 6200 card now. Hmmm makes me wonder if that Radeon X800 PRO card might work using DVI/HDMA since I had only tried the D-SUB connection with it....
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 9:53 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Glad to here that it is finally working. I hope that all of your troubles are behind you now.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
R420 Radeon X800 PRO and Nvidia 6200 max resolution
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin