Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Will Kaffeine scan for HDTV channels? Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Will Kaffeine scan for HDTV channels?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:55 pm Reply with quote
hlfmnhlfamzg
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 4




Trying to set this up, MythTV seems like a b****, but kaffeine seems nice and easy all I gotta do is click the button for HDTV, then click the button labeled "channel scan"

But wait.......... there's trouble in paradise here. The software doesn't lock up, but nothing happens.

channel = 78 VSB_8
TUNING FRONTEND: Invalid argument

dtvscan won't go past channel 78 for me. So I gotta find another way.

I'm running a new install of FC 9 with all the whiz bang updates.

And grep cx88 properly identifies my card. And yes, I am getting signal from my rabbit ears. So who knows how to get this going?

Thanks in advance. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:33 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




The last time I tried it, Kaffeine did not have native support for the USA ATSC broadcast channels. It is fairly easy to set it up so that it will work with ATSC channels.

You will have to scan for channels using the channel scanner provided in the dvb-utils package. Save the channels found as a channels.conf file. You then need to convert it to a file that Kaffeine can read. Download and compile this program:

http://websvn.kde.org/branches/work/~pfister/

I had trouble compiling it on my Mythbuntu 7.10 machine, so I did it on Suse. I chronicled the process on the Kaffeine Forum, in this thread:

http://hftom.free.fr/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=115&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=&sid=858bdfb2ac70c4a183f2442876c9fa69

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:50 pm Reply with quote
hlfmnhlfamzg
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 4




Thanks for the quick reply.

----------You will have to scan for channels using the channel scanner provided in the dvb-utils package.------------

Do you mean the tools from the pchdtv website? I tried the latest dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.7 package, but it won't complete a scan. It only goes to channel 78.

Thanks for the link to that thread. I'm sure it'll become handy once I figure out how to get the channel scanner to go past channel 78.

I know I saw a posting around here which seemed to address that, I'll come back to this in a sec.

*EDIT* Alright, I see what you mean about the dvb-utils package.
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Adding_Digital_Cable_Channels_(For_ATSC/QAM_Tuner_Cards_--_USA/Canada)#Scanning_for_channels

I found a package for it using yum, but none of the commands seem to work.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:47 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I don't currently have a dvb card in a Fedora box. But on Fedora 8, it looks like the command to scan for channels would be this.
Code:
scandvb /usr/share/dvb-apps/atsc/us-ATSC-center-frequencies-8VSB

The files may be in a different location for Fedora 9.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:27 pm Reply with quote
hlfmnhlfamzg
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 4




Awesome! That's where it was. At first, I got a whole bunch of error messages, didn't expect it.

WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
>>> tune to: 63028615:8VSB (tuning failed)

But after letting it continue to run, I see it's scanning each channel individually. *phew* This is gonna take a long time.

Thanks for your help so far waterhead

*EDIT*
>>> tune to: 803028615:8VSB (tuning failed)
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
dumping lists (9 services)

So I'll have access to 9 channels. I copied the 9 channels to a text file, renamed it channels.conf, where should it be placed?

*EDIT2*
Nevermind. I placed the file in the /xine folder. I'm watching TV in xine at least. Is there an easy way to import all of this into kaffeine?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:48 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




As for the atsc-converter program. You can download the files individually to a folder. When I ran "make" I got an error, so I used the -i option to ignore the errors.
Code:
make -i

I put my channels.conf file in the same folder, cd to that folder, and ran this command.
Code:
/atsc-converter channels.conf

Copy and paste the output to a text file , and name it channels.dvb. Put it in the hidden folder in your home folder.

~/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine (~/ represents your home folder).

And you thought that this was easier than MythTV? Smile

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:05 am Reply with quote
hlfmnhlfamzg
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2008
Posts: 4




[root@localhost NewFolder]# make
Makefile:8: *** missing separator. Stop.
[root@localhost NewFolder]# make -i
Makefile:8: *** missing separator. Stop.

Dunno what that means.

--------And you thought that this was easier than MythTV?-----------

I did until now! LOL I haven't been able to make heads or tails of Myth. I tried mythbuntu and knoppmyth, and installing it into another system as extra software/packages.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:06 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I don't have an answer for your errors. You may want to ask at the Kaffeine forums, as they should know more about this. Please post here if you get a solution.

You may just need to install a different version of make. (yes, it is an installable program)

Edit: A quick search of this said that there should be a tab in the file instad of a space. I guess this is in the way you copied the original file. I just downloaded them without trying to copy and paste them.

Hope this helps

Another Edit: I found some more info on this error :
Quote:
The message:
makefile:2:missing separator. Stop.
or:
makefile:2:missing separator (did you mean TAB instead of 8 spaces?). Stop.
usually means you have a command script that is using spaces instead of tabs.
The more literal interpretation is that make was looking for a make separator such as :,
=, or a tab, and didnít find one. Instead, it found something it didnít understand.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
astcconverter.c
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:09 pm Reply with quote
dennism47
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 11




So how do you run this file? it is already downloaded as text and nothing happens with make. I am not familiar enough with command line to get any farther here.

_________________
Dennis Myers
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:37 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Click on the individual files, then the "download" link at the top of the revision. This doesn't seem to work with the Make file. For that. when I click the "download" link, I get a page with the file. I then go to the Firefox menu and select File --> Save Page As... and just save it. I didn't select any file type, just used the default.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
make?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:40 pm Reply with quote
dennism47
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 11




when I download this file I find "atsc-converter.c". Make does nothing and I am not sure how to get it to do the conversion. What is the trick. I have my channels.conf as a text file and the atsc-converter.c seems to be a text file. Help is welcome because I am about to use a hammer on this card.




waterhead wrote:
As for the atsc-converter program. You can download the files individually to a folder. When I ran "make" I got an error, so I used the -i option to ignore the errors.
Code:
make -i

I put my channels.conf file in the same folder, cd to that folder, and ran this command.
Code:
/atsc-converter channels.conf

Copy and paste the output to a text file , and name it channels.dvb. Put it in the hidden folder in your home folder.

~/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine (~/ represents your home folder).

And you thought that this was easier than MythTV? Smile

_________________
Dennis Myers
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:27 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




You need all 5 of the files in the ~pfister directory. Put them all in the same folder, and then run the make command. It should compile a binary file called atsc-converter.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:22 pm Reply with quote
dennism47
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 11




waterhead wrote:
You need all 5 of the files in the ~pfister directory. Put them all in the same folder, and then run the make command. It should compile a binary file called atsc-converter.

ok, we accomplished that. Now when I run the converter command it gives me file not found. How do we run the binary file?

_________________
Dennis Myers
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:53 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Were you able to compile the application? If so, I already said what to do:
Quote:
I put my channels.conf file in the same folder, cd to that folder, and ran this command.
Code:

/atsc-converter channels.conf

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:44 pm Reply with quote
dennism47
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 11




I did the /atsc-converter channels.conf
and got no atsc-converter file found. I was in the proper folder too. It shows up as a binary in the file folder.

_________________
Dennis Myers
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Will Kaffeine scan for HDTV channels?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 2  
Goto page 1, 2  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin