Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> HD-2000/3000 drivers -> HD-3000 almost works, except for the software part
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
HD-3000 almost works, except for the software part
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:32 pm Reply with quote
marc
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 2




I recently moved my HD-3000 card into a new machine (Core 2 Quad, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard, Ubuntu 7.10 release candidate), and I'm having trouble getting it to work with my cable (QAM) feed (Comcast MA). Analog tv works just fine. I even got analog audio working by setting the eeprom bit as discussed elsewhere on this forum.

When I boot, all the drivers get loaded (cx88_dvb, among others), I have a channels.conf file which seems accurate. Indeed, azap seems to work:

Quote:
$ azap -r WHDH
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
tuning to 759000000 Hz
video pid 0x00a1, audio pid 0x00a4
status 00 | signal c48a | snr 19c0 | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 |
status 00 | signal efbd | snr 208d | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 |
status 1f | signal d699 | snr 1e15 | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 | FE_HAS_LOCK
status 1f | signal efbd | snr 20b9 | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 | FE_HAS_LOCK
status 1f | signal efec | snr 20cd | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 | FE_HAS_LOCK
status 1f | signal ea6d | snr 202a | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 | FE_HAS_LOCK
status 1f | signal ed8f | snr 2055 | ber 00000000 | unc 00000000 | FE_HAS_LOCK


I downloaded and built dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.7, and dtvsignal works:

Quote:
$ ./dtvsignal -q 82
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
setting frontend to QAM cable
tuning to 573000000 Hz
video pid 0x0021, audio pid 0x0024
dtvsignal ver 1.0.7 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002-2007
channel = 82 freq = 573000000Hz table 573
channel = 82 freq = 573000000Hz
30db 0% 25% 50% 75% 100%
Signal: | . : . | ._____:_____._____|
Signal: 098 $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$


as does dtvsnr:

Quote:
$ ./dtvsnr -q 82
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
setting frontend to QAM cable
tuning to 573000000 Hz
video pid 0x0021, audio pid 0x0024
dtvsnr ver 1.0.7 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2006-2007
channel = 82 freq = 573000000Hz table 573
channel = 82 freq = 573000000Hz
dB -10 0 10 20 30 40
SNR: | | | | | |
SNR: 033 $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$


dtvscan, however, outputs only garbage:

Quote:
$ ./dtvscan -q -c 81:83
dtvscan ver 1.0.7 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002 - 2007
Attempting to open /dev/dtv
Opened FE:/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0 3
Opened DMX:/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0 4
Opened DVR:/dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0 5
channel = 81 QAM_256
Signal: 98
look for sync
got to here
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
Unable to recieve valid packets
did find pat
`ERROR vct item ptr null couldn't get channel info
: :81.1 :81: 2:1
channel = 82 QAM_256
channel = 82 QAM_64
lock glitch
lock glitch
channel = 83 QAM_256
channel = 83 QAM_64
Signal: 97
look for sync
got to here
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
PAT found ckets
Unable to recieve valid packets
did find pat
`ERROR vct item ptr null couldn't get channel info
: :83.1 :83: 2:1


If I cat /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0, I get nothing at all. "gmplayer dvb://" hangs, I assume for a similar reason.

I can't get xine (0.99.5) to work at all. No matter what I put in the channels.conf file (including constructing some lines by hand based on the code in dtvscan), when I click on the DVB button, I get a pair of dialog boxes:

Quote:
- xine engine error -
Input plugin failed to open mrl 'Sorry, No channels.conf found'


Quote:
The specified file or MRL could not be found. Pleas check it
twice. (Sorry, No channels.conf found)


~/.xine/channels.conf exists. If I run strace on xine, I can see it open and read the contents from the file.

For completeness, I decided to run the other commands in dvb-atsc-tools. Lo and behold, getatsc works! Looking at the code, all it does is read from /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr, so I don't know why it behaves differently from cat, but there it is. If I run

Quote:
./getatsc -q 82 | gmplayer -noconsolecontrols - /dev/fd/0


I get audio and video. It's jumpy and has sync errors, and sometimes the audio program and video program are mismatched (which I can fix with -aid and -vid), but the card is clearly receiving and decoding the signal, and sending mpeg data. If I store the output of getatsc in a file, and run gmplayer on that, then the sync errors go away, so I assume that getatsc just can't keep up somehow.

So, given that the card is doing its thing, I have only one crucial question: what application can I use to watch tv and change channels with this thing, or how can I fix things so xine works?


Last edited by marc on Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 2:06 pm Reply with quote
toups
 
Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 18




You are not alone. A while back I updated a bunch of things (running Gentoo) including the kernel and udev and mythtv etc. Now everything is broken. After a lot of debugging, I have similar symptoms. If I use azap to tune a channel and then
Code:

cat /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0 > test_stream

test_stream is always an empty file. However, if I use
Code:

getatsc -q -dvb 0 71 >test_stream

I do get a data stream that is playable.

Anyone have suggestions why nothing I've tried but getatsc can grab the data?
View user's profile Send private message
I got it to work, at least in part
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:48 am Reply with quote
marc
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 2




I figured out the difference between cat ant getatsc. The latter does some ioctls on the demux device, without which the dvr device will do nothing. The ioctls in question are FE_SET_FRONTEND, DMX_SET_PES_FILTER, and DMX_START. There is more info at http://www.linuxtv.org/docs/dvbapi/DVB_Demux_Device.html#SECTION00420000000000000000.

Without changing any code, though, mplayer works if I have a correct channels.conf file. based on the information I was able to learn using getatsc, I was able to manually construct a channels.conf file which works for me.

In case it helps you, I was doing stuff like this:

Quote:
# mknod /tmp/tv p
# ./getatsc -q 87 > /tmp/tv & mplayer -framedrop -identify /tmp/tv


This stutters a lot, but works enough to get the video and audio channels for the channels.conf file. For example, the above commands dump ID_VIDEO_ID=1984 and ID_AUDIO_ID=1984, and I can use ./dtvsignal -q 87 to convert from channel number to frequency. Putting it all together, I get this channels.conf line:

Quote:
WFXT-HD:603000000:QAM_256:1984:1985:1


I'm not sure what the last number is, but once I have this, then mplayer dvb://WFXT-HD works. I still can't get xine to work, but at least I've got something!
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:39 pm Reply with quote
toups
 
Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 18




toups wrote:
You are not alone. A while back I updated a bunch of things (running Gentoo) including the kernel and udev and mythtv etc. Now everything is broken. After a lot of debugging, I have similar symptoms. If I use azap to tune a channel and then
Code:

cat /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0 > test_stream

test_stream is always an empty file. However, if I use
Code:

getatsc -q -dvb 0 71 >test_stream

I do get a data stream that is playable.

Anyone have suggestions why nothing I've tried but getatsc can grab the data?


I found my problem, my provider changed the channel and transport assignments. Rescanned for channels and things are working.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:44 pm Reply with quote
Jack Gilinsky
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2015
Posts: 1




This is exceptionally decent and better than average post....You shook posting it....Thanks a ton for posting it.....!!!

_________________
http://www.test-king.com/vendor-IBM.htm
http://www.test-king.com/cert-CEH.htm
View user's profile Send private message
HD-3000 almost works, except for the software part
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> HD-2000/3000 drivers
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin