Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> HD3000 + Comcast Seattle = Tuning Failed!
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
HD3000 + Comcast Seattle = Tuning Failed!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:03 pm Reply with quote
seattle_steve
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle




I've been struggling unsuccessfully for a few weeks trying to get the HD3000 (on FC4) to tune in local channels via Comcast cable. I've been through these forums (and AVS, and...) to no avail. Everything seems okay: the card is recognized (lspci); the QAM firmware loads (dmesg) when I azap with different channel.confs I've found; it also loads when I use atscscan with the us_cable_standard... list of frequencies. But I get nothing except "Tuning Failed!"

I know the card works -- by hooking it up to an old FM antenna I've successfully got a channel lock, cat'd to a test mpg file and even watched live OTA HD TV briefly. Unfortunately, I live in one of Seattle's valleys so my reception is pretty bad, which is why I wanted to use the HD3000 with cable...

I spoke with a Comcast technician recently. He stated that the local HD channels aren't encrypted, but the card probably doesn't understand the "compression" they are using. Does this make sense to anyone?

So, I finally broke down and had Comcast bring out a Motorola DCT3412 HD PVR. It works great. Same negative results when I try the HD3000. Has anyone in Seattle proper got the HD3000 to work with Comcast?

FYI: I'm using FC4 with the latest kernel on an AMD XP based machine. I've been using MythTV on it with a PVR-250 for some time without problem. (I tried removing the 250, but that didn't help.)

Anyway, I'm about to chuck the HD3000 unless anyone has any ideas...
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:26 pm Reply with quote
kmj0577
 
Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 57




Well, if you have a Diagnostic channel that allows you to view tuning information, write the frequency and audio and video PIDs down and use dvbstream. The diagnostic channel works (at least in my case) by changing first to the channel you want to see information on (in one of my cases, 1411), then changing the channel to the diagnostic station (in my case, 611). Then I used dvbstream like this:
Watching:
dvbstream -c 0 -o -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID> | mplayer <Options> -

and to capture to file.ts:
dvbstream -c 0 -o:file.ts -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID>
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 8:06 pm Reply with quote
seattle_steve
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle




kmj0577 wrote:
Well, if you have a Diagnostic channel that allows you to view tuning information, write the frequency and audio and video PIDs down and use dvbstream. The diagnostic channel works (at least in my case) by changing first to the channel you want to see information on (in one of my cases, 1411), then changing the channel to the diagnostic station (in my case, 611). Then I used dvbstream like this:
Watching:
dvbstream -c 0 -o -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID> | mplayer <Options> -

and to capture to file.ts:
dvbstream -c 0 -o:file.ts -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID>


By "tune to channel", I assume you mean on the cable box? (If not, what did you mean as I can't currently tune any channels on the HD3000?) I went thru the program guide and couldn't find a diagnostic channel. Neither 1411 nor 611 came up as valid channels when keying in those numbers directly.

Has anyone in Seattle proper got the HD3000 working with Comcast? If so, do you have a channels.conf or list of frequencies?

Thanks.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:10 pm Reply with quote
kmj0577
 
Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 57




seattle_steve wrote:
kmj0577 wrote:
Well, if you have a Diagnostic channel that allows you to view tuning information, write the frequency and audio and video PIDs down and use dvbstream. The diagnostic channel works (at least in my case) by changing first to the channel you want to see information on (in one of my cases, 1411), then changing the channel to the diagnostic station (in my case, 611). Then I used dvbstream like this:
Watching:
dvbstream -c 0 -o -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID> | mplayer <Options> -

and to capture to file.ts:
dvbstream -c 0 -o:file.ts -f <frequency in Hz> -qam 256 <Video PID> <Audio PID>


By "tune to channel", I assume you mean on the cable box? (If not, what did you mean as I can't currently tune any channels on the HD3000?) I went thru the program guide and couldn't find a diagnostic channel. Neither 1411 nor 611 came up as valid channels when keying in those numbers directly.

Has anyone in Seattle proper got the HD3000 working with Comcast? If so, do you have a channels.conf or list of frequencies?

Thanks.

Well, I'm not in Seattle, so 1411 and 611 are just example numbers. And I meant on the cable box.

For actual frequenices, you might try the Seattle Comcast thread over at AVS Forum. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=253006&page=1&pp=30&highlight=seattle
View user's profile Send private message
HD3000 + Comcast Seattle = Tuning Failed!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 6:56 pm Reply with quote
seattle_steve
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle




kmj0577 wrote:

For actual frequenices, you might try the Seattle Comcast thread over at AVS Forum. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=253006&page=1&pp=30&highlight=seattle


I haven't found the AVS Forums terribly useful for that kind of detail. (I did search it again tho.) Most folks over at AVS are dealing with things at a higher level (e.g., local channel numbers, not the actual frequencies).

Can anyone tell me if I'm even approaching this the right way? (Most of the documented steps for the HD3000 are for OTA rather than for cable/QAM...) Should "atscscan atsc/us-cable..." correctly recognize QAM channels off of a cable connection? Are there any specific options I need to use with atscscan? I believe I tried the type=cable option documented in atscscan --help (can't remember the actual option name/value at the moment). And I tried it against all the files in the atsc directory, but all of them resulted in Tuning Failed for all frequencies. Or is there another/better approach to determining the cable frequencies?

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:24 pm Reply with quote
dhighley
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 8




I'm from the Seattle area, I do not use a cable box and the list I came up with is:
# dvb-apps/util/scan/atscscan \
# dvb-apps/util/scan/atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256
C79-1:555000000:QAM_256:2112:2113:1
C79-2:555000000:QAM_256:2176:2177:2
C79-3:555000000:QAM_256:2240:2241:3
C79-4:555000000:QAM_256:2304:2305:4
C79-5:555000000:QAM_256:2048:2049:5
C79-6:555000000:QAM_256:2368:2369:6
C79-7:555000000:QAM_256:2432:2433:7
C79-8:555000000:QAM_256:2496:2497:8
C79-9:555000000:QAM_256:2560:2561:9
C79-a:555000000:QAM_256:2624:2625:10
C80-1:561000000:QAM_256:2432:2433:1
C80-2:561000000:QAM_256:2496:2497:2
C80-3:561000000:QAM_256:2560:2561:3
C80-6:561000000:QAM_256:2112:2113:6
C80-7:561000000:QAM_256:2176:2177:7
C80-8:561000000:QAM_256:2240:2241:8
C80-9:561000000:QAM_256:2304:2305:9
C80-a:561000000:QAM_256:2368:2369:10
C81-1:567000000:QAM_256:33:34:1
C81-2:567000000:QAM_256:36:37:2
C82-1:573000000:QAM_256:35:37:1
C82-2:573000000:QAM_256:33:36:2
C82-3:573000000:QAM_256:49:52:3
C82-4:573000000:QAM_256:65:68:4
C82-5:573000000:QAM_256:81:84:5
C83-1:579000000:QAM_256:33:34:1
C83-2:579000000:QAM_256:36:37:2
C83-3:579000000:QAM_256:49:52:3
C84-1:585000000:QAM_256:38:39:1
C91-4:627000000:QAM_256:2624:2625:4
C91-8:627000000:QAM_256:2560:2561:8
C93-7:639000000:QAM_256:113:116:7
C102-8:663000000:QAM_256:2432:2433:8
C102-9:663000000:QAM_256:2048:2049:9
C102-a:663000000:QAM_256:2112:2113:10
C103-4:669000000:QAM_256:2048:2049:4
C104-1:675000000:QAM_256:2048:2049:1
C104-2:675000000:QAM_256:2112:2113:2
C104-9:675000000:QAM_256:2176:2177:9
C104-a:675000000:QAM_256:2240:2241:10
C105-1035:681000000:QAM_256:2432:2433:1035
C105-1049:681000000:QAM_256:2112:2113:1049
C105-1058:681000000:QAM_256:2624:2625:1058
C105-1059:681000000:QAM_256:2048:2049:1059
C105-1060:681000000:QAM_256:2496:2497:1060
C105-1065:681000000:QAM_256:2560:2561:1065
C105-1066:681000000:QAM_256:2240:2241:1066
C105-1067:681000000:QAM_256:2304:2305:1067
C105-1072:681000000:QAM_256:2368:2369:1072
C112-b:723000000:QAM_256:177:180:11
C112-d:723000000:QAM_256:209:212:13
C117-1:753000000:QAM_256:32:33:1
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:53 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




If you have the DCT3412 you can get into the diagnostic menu by turning the DVR off, then quickly pushing select twice. There is a page "IB tuner status" or something like that which will tell you the status of the two tuners. This inclues frequency, modulation, encryption, and signal level. I'm not sure if PID numbers are there too.

If you think the comcast DVR with microsoft software works great, just wait untill you've used it a bit. It is absolute garbage! The longer you use it and the more things you record, the slower it gets. Mine takes about 10 seconds to redraw the program guide if I'm watching a HD channel. You can see each box in the guide slowly get redrawn one by one. It also fails to record things it should about 20% of the time. It's failed to record the new, not going to be rerun, episodes of _Lost_ twice in row for me, forcing me to turn to bittorrent to get the episode.
View user's profile Send private message
HD3000 + Comcast Seattle = Tuning Failed!
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin