Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> HD3000 on FC4 with QAM256 - Problems!!
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
HD3000 on FC4 with QAM256 - Problems!!
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:23 pm Reply with quote
sberlo9
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 2




I just purchased an HD3000 and am having troubles with it. I have installed the card using DVB drivers, can scan for channels with dtvscan and find several - I am trying to use QAM256 (Time Warner Cable - North Central Ohio). If I use azap -r to tune a channel that I know is unencrypted (and that I can tune on my Air2PC HD5000 card), I can't capture any playable video stream - I have tried several channels and used both mplayer and xine to attempt to play them - xine just stops without saying anything, mplayer says 'no stream found'.
I have MythTV 0.19 installed and if I try to record from channels that work fine on my Air2PC card, I get a signal lock, but I get extremely blocky video with choppy sound.
Everything looks good to me as far as signal strength (azap shows fe** in the signal column - from what I have seen on other posts, this means good signal??). I am running FC4 with the 2.6.15 kernel on a Pentium 4 3Ghz computer with a VIA chipset. I was really starting to wonder if I may have received a bad card, but it seems like I'm not the only one with this problem - at least with QAM.
Does anyone have any suggestions on how I may be able to get this card working properly? Is anyone out there getting good video tuning QAM on FC4?
BTW - where should I be looking for updated drivers/patches, etc.? Do you think that would help?
I can post info from dmesg, etc. if that will help.

Steve
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:47 pm Reply with quote
dieter
 
Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 43
Location: US




> I get a signal lock, but I get extremely blocky video with choppy sound.
> Everything looks good to me as far as signal strength (azap shows fe** in
> the signal column - from what I have seen on other posts, this means good signal??).

Does it stay locked continously, or does azap report samples without lock
occasionally?

A signal of fe** should be very good in theory, but in practice it is
hard to know if it actually means anything. There seems to be little
corelation between signal strength, s/n, and lock:

21:41:19 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fbbd | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:19 status 1f | signal e6e8 | snr fb5b | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:19 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb8b | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:20 status 00 | signal ef9c | snr fb89 |
21:41:20 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb3f | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:21 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb3f | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:21 status 1f | signal ef9c | snr fb55 | FE_HAS_LOCK

See the "signal strength bouncing around" thread for more examples of
this lack of corelation.

I've looked at azap, it just does ioctls to get this info. The problem
would be in the hardware or in the device driver.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:51 am Reply with quote
sberlo9
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 2




dieter wrote:
> I get a signal lock, but I get extremely blocky video with choppy sound.
> Everything looks good to me as far as signal strength (azap shows fe** in
> the signal column - from what I have seen on other posts, this means good signal??).

Does it stay locked continously, or does azap report samples without lock
occasionally?

A signal of fe** should be very good in theory, but in practice it is
hard to know if it actually means anything. There seems to be little
corelation between signal strength, s/n, and lock:

21:41:19 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fbbd | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:19 status 1f | signal e6e8 | snr fb5b | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:19 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb8b | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:20 status 00 | signal ef9c | snr fb89 |
21:41:20 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb3f | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:21 status 1f | signal ec8a | snr fb3f | FE_HAS_LOCK
21:41:21 status 1f | signal ef9c | snr fb55 | FE_HAS_LOCK

See the "signal strength bouncing around" thread for more examples of
this lack of corelation.

I've looked at azap, it just does ioctls to get this info. The problem
would be in the hardware or in the device driver.


When I first installed the card, I lost the FE_HAS_LOCK message every once in a while. After reading/googling, etc. I found a post suggesting that I turn off spread spectrum in my system BIOS. It was on, so I tried turning it off. Since then, I get a solid FE_HAS_LOCK message. I thought I had it solved, but it didn't help the video problem at all.

As far as a hardware problem, do think the HD3000 is the problem, or something else in the system? The system has been running a Air2PC card and a PVR-350 without problems in the past. I have also tried removing both cards and running the HD3000 all by itself. Still doesn't work.

Is there somewhere to look for drivers? Or do I have to wait for the 2.6.16 kernel?

Thanks!
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:46 am Reply with quote
dieter
 
Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 43
Location: US




> turn off spread spectrum in my system BIOS.
> It was on, so I tried turning it off.
> Since then, I get a solid FE_HAS_LOCK message.

Very interesting! I think spread spectrum is
turned off on my system, but I will check.

> As far as a hardware problem, do think the HD3000
> is the problem, or something else in the system?

The HD3000 is the source of the signal, s/n and lock
data, and thus must be considered a suspect. In theory
the data could be getting corrupted somewhere between
the HD3000 and the CPU, although that seems unlikely.
Even more unlikely given the variety of mainboard make
and model that all have the problem.

My main suspect is the device driver. I hope it is the
driver, since that will be a lot easier to fix than hardware.

> Is there somewhere to look for drivers?

Try http://kernel.org/
View user's profile Send private message
HD3000 on FC4 with QAM256 - Problems!!
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin