Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> A bit off topic: Help with LCD TV and KDE/XWindows
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
A bit off topic: Help with LCD TV and KDE/XWindows
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:53 pm Reply with quote
douglasw0
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, I know this is a bit off topic for a pcHDTV Board (Yes, I am running the pcHDTV3000 card, and trying to get myth setup and running so it's MINORLY associated...mostly i'm looking for good Linux experience to help me through this stumper...)

HELP! No really, HELP. I'm throwing myself upon the sword of the community for any shread of a clue..

Ok, a bit over dramatic. Very Happy

I'm a new MythTV / PVR Linux experiemter. Got the idea to do this just around the time we decided to go HD in our house (a few weeks ago) and i've been playing with this ever since. Most all the basics are good to go at this point other than one, small annoyance (ok, major setback...)

My 37" Sharp Aquos brand spanking new 37D40U LCD TV seems to think it's a 740x480 screen. I know it can do 1080i, 720p resolutions and i've had many a boot up screen showing me a perfect 1366x768 resolution (the resolution the book on my TV says it supports).

The problem is, no matter how pretty the picture I get on graphical boot, the moment the machine boots up and switches over to KDE's desktop manager (actually GDM I guess is the default "XDM" Login screen) it switches my PC to 480p mode and displays a Nice 740x480 screen which makes me want to use the TV from across the street it's so big...not to mention none of the KDE menus fit on the screen and the best resolution I get on TV is 480p from my Hi Def Signal.

Specs:
I"ve got a Fedora Core 5 system running with Myth TV installed from RPM (0.19). The tuner card is a pcHDTV 3000, with an NVidia GeForce MX 5700 card...think that's all the relivant info other than the TV is as speced above and the computer is connected by DVI -> HDMI cable. NVidia driver version: 8756, Kernel Version: 2.6.16-1_2096_FC5 (SMP).

So, as I was saying above I've had several modelines (listed below) in my xorg.conf file:

modeline "1366x768p" 84.750 1368 1448 1576 1776 768 771 776 798 -hsync +
vsync
modeline "1368x768p" 85.478 1368 1424 1536 1792 768 771 777 795 +hsync +
vsync
#Known Working Modelines
modeline "1920x1080i" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 int
erlace +hsync +vsync

All modelines above were generated using a windows tool that generates X modelines and the 1920x1080i line is known good as that mode actually RUNS on my windows box and I exported the modeline right out of that.

In ALL of these modelines above when I boot up the graphical system boot screen (the blue screen with the dropdown arrow that shows you the system boot "ok" messages) appears in a perfect resolution for my screen, perfectly centered and always excelent quality and size. However, the MOMENT GDM starts up the screen blacks on me and comes right back in 720x480 mode. Just as the screen blacks out an "info" box from the TV pops up showing me 1080i which then switches to 480p and then the GDM screen comes up in that horrible 720x480 mode.

XOrg.0.log is showing the following relivant info:

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce FX 5700 at PCI:1:0:0
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 262144 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.36.20.23.00
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5700 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sharp HDMI (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sharp HDMI (DFP-0): 150 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sharp HDMI (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1920x1080i"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"

No matter what mode I plug in I am getting the "No valid modes for" message.

Does this have to do with EDID (not sure EXACTLY what this is other than i'm guessing it's a method for a monitor to report what it's capabilities are to a connected device...and my TV is stupid and not reporting it's full/correct resolution).

I know this isn't exactly pcHDTV related and is probably simple, but i'm completely stumped, help?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:32 pm Reply with quote
Scott Larson
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 713
Location: Portland, OR




I have an older Sharp 37" Aquos. Unfortunately Nvidia broke their drivers a few years ago so I've never been able to get any of their drivers from 1.0-5328 on to work in 1366x768 mode. The TV just says "Unsupported Mode" or something when I use the new driver and works fine when I go back to the old driver. Naturally I've logged this bug many times over the years with Nvidia but they don't care. The modeline I'm using is:

# 1368x768 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 47.70 kHz; pclk: 85.86 MHz
Modeline "1368x768" 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 +HSync +Vsync

Note that at least with the older drivers you had to use a 1368x768 resolution because everything has to be divisible by eight.

For kicks you might try throwing in
Code:
        Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
        Option "UseEdidFreqs" "false"

into the Device section of the config file. Sharp blundered on the early HDTV's like mine by forgetting to put 1366x768 in the EDID info so Windows machines completely refused to use this mode. The Linux driver fortunately had options to ignore EDID.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:33 pm Reply with quote
douglasw0
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 14




Scott Larson wrote:
I have an older Sharp 37" Aquos. Unfortunately Nvidia broke their drivers a few years ago so I've never been able to get any of their drivers from 1.0-5328 on to work in 1366x768 mode. The TV just says "Unsupported Mode" or something when I use the new driver and works fine when I go back to the old driver. Naturally I've logged this bug many times over the years with Nvidia but they don't care. The modeline I'm using is:

# 1368x768 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 47.70 kHz; pclk: 85.86 MHz
Modeline "1368x768" 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 +HSync +Vsync

Note that at least with the older drivers you had to use a 1368x768 resolution because everything has to be divisible by eight.

For kicks you might try throwing in
Code:
        Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
        Option "UseEdidFreqs" "false"

into the Device section of the config file. Sharp blundered on the early HDTV's like mine by forgetting to put 1366x768 in the EDID info so Windows machines completely refused to use this mode. The Linux driver fortunately had options to ignore EDID.


The good news is that I've done some work with this and actually was able to use XWindows logging to display what my valid modelines are...and thus have gotten a valid resolution on my screen other than 720x480.

The bad news is that this EDID oversite hasn't been fixed. The EDID information I get from XWindows at this point also does not include a 1366x768 (or 1368x768 for the "divisible by 8" rule) mode. You get 1920x1080i, 1280x720p, 1400x480i (Why oh WHY would you EVER want to use THIS mode) and 740x480p. These seem to match IDENTICALLY with the TV Standards of 1080i, 720p and 480p...in other words, you have valid resolutions on this TV of the TV Standards, doesn't matter that the screen supposedly supports 1366x768, the resolution simply isn't "valid"...it's a TV not a monitor (according to Sharp I guess).

The good news is that in 1280x720 mode (720p) everything looks DAMN good. Particularly MythTV and the TV comming out of it. The Desktop is readable and ledgeable, however I am getting some overscan (I believe is the term for when the desktop is off the screen). If you can imagine a 10x12 piece of paper with a 9x11 box placed over the top of it looking down through the box you'll get what I see. I'm sure tweeking the modeline might produce a valid desktop, but i'm wondering if there's a better way to do it other than modeline modification by hand...

--Douglas Wagner

Edit: Note: If I get rid of EDID (which I tried) I can't seem to find a modeline that will work on my TV. For right now, it seems that going with what EDID is reporting as valid modes is still the right choice, instead of trying to force it to 1366x768...unless of course that mode would be how i'd stop the "cropping" of the desktop.
View user's profile Send private message
A bit off topic: Help with LCD TV and KDE/XWindows
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin