Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> HD5500 with no signal
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
HD5500 with no signal
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:49 pm Reply with quote
Hobbiticus
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 4




I've searched all over the internet and the forums and I have yet to figure out what could be wrong with my setup. Using the dtvsignal tool, I can't get a signal on any channel with or without the -dvb or -q flags. The same goes for dtvscan. I've tried connecting the card to the wall socket, the coax output of my set top box and an antenna I had laying around (which is unlikely to be able to pick up HD/digital channels, but should pick up regular broadcast channels).

I'm not positive that I've included all of the necessary kernel options, but I've gotten this far, so I must have gotten them all.

Important specs:
PC5500 card
Debian Linux 4.0 (testing - [ecth?])
Kernel 2.6.19.1
Comcast cable, washington DC area

dmesg output:
Code:

# dmesg | grep cx
cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.6 loaded
CORE cx88[0]: subsystem: 7063:5500, board: pcHDTV HD5500 HDTV [card=47,autodetected]
cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:01:08.0, rev: 5, irq: 17, latency: 32, mmio: 0xf8000000
cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
cx2388x blackbird driver version 0.0.6 loaded
tuner 0-0043: chip found @ 0x86 (cx88[0])
tuner 0-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx88[0])
cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:01:08.2, rev: 5, irq: 17, latency: 32, mmio: 0xfa000000
cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based dvb card
DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0]).


lspci output:
Code:

# lspci -v
01:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
        Subsystem: pcHDTV Unknown device 5500
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 17
        Memory at f8000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Capabilities: [44] Vital Product Data
        Capabilities: [4c] Power Management version 2

01:08.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
        Subsystem: pcHDTV Unknown device 5500
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 5
        Memory at fb000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Capabilities: [4c] Power Management version 2

01:08.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
        Subsystem: pcHDTV Unknown device 5500
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 17
        Memory at fa000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Capabilities: [4c] Power Management version 2

01:08.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
        Subsystem: pcHDTV Unknown device 5500
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 5
        Memory at f9000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Capabilities: [4c] Power Management version 2


Those subsystem strings are a red flag in my mind.


My ultimate goal is to replace the piece of junk DVR comcast gave me for my HDTV. I'd like to be able to record HD channels that I get over cable, but I'm not positive that's possible.

EDIT: The washed out color seems to be a result from the contrast setting being too high.


Last edited by Hobbiticus on Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:43 am; edited 2 times in total
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:59 pm Reply with quote
Hobbiticus
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 4




Well, I just tried using tvtime for the hell of it, and I actually got picture and sound! Granted these were NTSC channels only. Also all of the color was all washed out on the vast majority of channels, which made them look really bad. It was almost like watching it in black and white.

When MythTV scans through channels on any combination of NTSC/ATSC or QAM-256/128/64, it finds nothing. The SNR jitters around 100%, but the signal is 0%. If I disconnect the cable, the SNR goes to 0. So, it must be receiving something.

The only thing that I can think of is that the signal strength is not being shared correctly through the driver so MythTV doesn't think that there's a signal there when there really is, so it doesn't try any more.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:24 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




Have you patched the driver for signal strength? The final signal strength patches were pulled into the V4L-DVB project just before the holidays. Try grabbing the latest driver from linuxtv.org

BTW- those changes should be in 2.6.20 and forward.

Rusty
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:34 am Reply with quote
Hobbiticus
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 4




No I have not. Where would I go to find this patch?

EDIT:
Is this it?
http://www.linuxtv.org/downloads/patches_to_2.6.20/v4l_dvb_hg_4789_lgdt330x_snr_and_signal_strength_reporting.patch

EDIT2:
I just updated to kernel 2.6.20-rc5, and I can now get signals. However, I get some unexpected results from dtvscan (and mythtv's channels scanner). First, I only get 4 HD channels - NBC, CBS, ABC, and FOX. Second, I get lots of channels with called something like 88#1, 88#2, 88#3, ..., 90#1, 90#2, 90#3, etc. I have about 12 series of these channels. When I try to tune to any of these channels, I get a lock, but no picture or sound in mythtv. What are these channels?

Also, shouldn't I be able to get channels like discovery HD, espn HD, or INHD? It seems like the network HD channels are the over the air version (channel "10.1" (OTA) instead of "211" (cable)) - why is that?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:18 pm Reply with quote
willemyth
 
Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 1




Is this patch available for the v4l-dvb-HD-5500-driver posted on the pcHDTV forum site?

I'm having similar issues. I've got a single 5500 card installed on a system running Ubuntu 6.10. I can scan the signals, record them, and watch them back using the dvb-atsc tools and various players. However, mythtv shows no signal when attempting to scan channels. Looking at the console when this happens, I notice the following error: pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l... invalid argument. Is this what the patch fixes?

Pete
View user's profile Send private message
HD5500 with no signal
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin