Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> Why no ACPI?
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
Why no ACPI?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 9:31 pm Reply with quote
JerryR
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Location: West Chester, PA




I'm in the process of getting Fedora Core 1 up and running with Myth. I followed Spinoza's procedure for patching the kernel and upon doing a "make modules_install" depmod says unresolved symbols in snd-mpu401.o:
acpi_walk_resources
acpi_bus_unregister_driver
acpi_bus_register_driver

Obviously this is because in Spinoza's instructions it says to disable ACPI when building the kernel. But the result is that I no longer have sound output. So my question is what problems ACPI causes when it's enabled, if any, and is there any way to enable it and have things work. Or, is there a way to get my sound working with ACPI disabled? I have an ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard, if it matters.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:11 am Reply with quote
Guest
 




I found these two threads with some more ACPI info. I'll try fooling around with what it says there and see if I get anywhere.

http://www.pchdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=106&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=acpi&start=30
http://www.pchdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=71&highlight=acpi
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:15 pm Reply with quote
Spinoza
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 27




I thought I responded this already..... the gremlins stole my responce..... so if you didn't read it before the gremlins got to it....

Those instructions aren't set in stone. They are just the best I could remember how I got it all to work. ACPI might be able to be enabled for you and work just fine. Why are people so resistant to try things? Just compile up the kernel with ACPI and give it a go. At first I got errors that had the string "acpi" in them, so I figured I'd turn it off and see what happens. I didn't have any insider knownledge into anything, just trying stuff. I actually have since then upgraded to Fedora Core 2 with and threw in a plain vanilla 2.6.7 kernel with the 2.6.6 patchces... works like a charm.

_________________
-vito
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
ACPI works here
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 1:30 pm Reply with quote
inkling
 
Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 342




2.4.26 kernel from kernel.org

Enabled ACPI after reading your post.
Never used ACPI before since had no need.
Puts a lotta interesting gunk in dmesg.

Also, I'm compiling the bttv modules separate since I don't like dorking up the kernel tree unless absolutely necessary, like O_STREAMING patch.

All works fine as far as I can tell.

Probably doesn't apply to your setup, though.
View user's profile Send private message
Why no ACPI?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin