pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> Help Tuning Channels with HD-3000
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
Help Tuning Channels with HD-3000
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:21 pm Reply with quote
soxfan

I recently purchased an HD-3000 card for use in a MythTV system that I am working on. Although I am a long time Linux user this is my first attempt at setting up any type of PVR/DVR system, so my knowledge of some of things involved in the setup, especially with regards to TV formats (NTSC, ATSC, HDTV, QAM256, etc.) is definitely at a beginner's level.

I have a line from my cable TV feed (Comcast - Boston, MA area) going directly into the HD-3000. Using some documentation from the MythTV wiki I was able to get the card configured and working, and I can currently tune about a dozen channels (most of them HDTV). Honestly, based on research I did before purchasing the card this is about what I expected. However, some of the things I am seeing during the setup and configuration process have me confused, and wondering if I should actually be able to tune more channels. (Note: I know that the HD-3000 can also tune analog channels, and I'm patiently waiting for the next release of MythTV, which I believe will have support for using the card in both analog and digital modes. For the purposes of this post I am referring strictly to the digital side of things)