Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> OT: MythTV Dropping Record
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
OT: MythTV Dropping Record
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:47 pm Reply with quote
douglasw0
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 14




Again, somewhat off topic, posted this to the Myth-Users list but i'm sure it's getting lost in the noise.

My Myth box is now setup and running fairly well. Things seem to be going pretty well with it other than some LIRC problems. HOWEVER i'm still getting some worrysome error messages as well as having issues with recording.

First, i'm failry new to all this (it's been maybe 3 days since i've had the thing correctly up and running) So I don't really know what I don't know.

My big first problem is failure to record. A cut from my mythtv backend log: (Excuse the shows, it's PBS for the kids...Smile )

2006-04-28 07:29:51.849 Started recording: It's a Big Big World "Burdette Queen
Ant; One Monkey Too Many": channel 1091 on cardid 1, sourceid 1
2006-04-28 07:29:52.896 DVB#0 DVB SI Table Parser Started
2006-04-28 08:00:10.689 TVRec(1): Changing from RecordingOnly to None
2006-04-28 08:00:10.772 Finished recording It's a Big Big World "Burdette Queen
Ant; One Monkey Too Many": channel 1091
2006-04-28 08:00: 10.889 Reschedule requested for id 0.
2006-04-28 08:00:11.519 Finished recording It's a Big Big World "Burdette Queen
Ant; One Monkey Too Many": channel 1091
0: start_time: 8106.567 duration: 163.570
1: start_time: 8106.516 duration: 163.575
stream: start_time: 90072.401 duration: 1818.009 bitrate=10542 kb/s
2006-04-28 08:00:11.679 AFD: Opened codec 0x989fca0, id(MPEG2VIDEO) type(Video)
2006-04-28 08:00:11.692 AFD: Opened codec 0x98903e0, id(AC3) type(Audio)
2006-04-28 08:00:11.790 Scheduled 301 items in 0.9 = 0.01 match + 0.89 place

Ok, so this was obviously a good record (put in here to prove i've actually gotten SOMETHING recorded...)

Now, here's a "failed" record it seems:
stream: start_time: 90072.401 duration: 1818.009 bitrate=10542 kb/s
2006-04-28 08:34:35.298 AFD: Opened codec 0xad9182a0, id(MPEG2VIDEO) type(Video)
2006-04-28 08:34: 35.300 AFD: Opened codec 0xad96f700, id(AC3) type(Audio)
2006-04-28 09:59:51.706 TVRec(1): Changing from None to RecordingOnly
2006-04-28 09:59:51.751 DVB#0 ERROR - Could not find dvb tuning parameters for m
plex 32767
2006-04-28 09:59:51.766 DVB#0 ERROR - Failed to get channel options for channel
9.
2006-04-28 09:59:51.774 TVRec(1) Error: Failed to set channel to 9. Reverting to
kState_None
2006-04-28 09:59:51.782 TVRec(1): Changing from RecordingOnly to None
2006-04-28 09:59:51.793 Finished recording Caillou "All Around the Block!": chan
nel 1009
2006-04-28 09:59:51.827 Started recording: Caillou "All Around the Block!": chan
nel 1009 on cardid 1, sourceid 1
2006-04-28 10:00:01.867 Reschedule requested for id 0.
2006-04-28 10:00:02.647 Scheduled 301 items in 0.8 = 0.01 match + 0.77 place
2006-04-28 10:02:13.026 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2006-04-28 10:02: 13.032 adding: ghost.wagnerweb.org as a client (events: 0)
2006-04-28 10:02:13.072 Reschedule requested for id -1.
2006-04-28 10:02:13.083 Unknown socket closing
2006-04-28 10:02: 13.503 Scheduled 324 items in 0.4 = 0.07 match + 0.36 place

Havn't checked this as failed, but i'm very very sure it is...Caillou at our house comes on at 10:00, so the fact that it's "finished" at 9:59 means it's not going to have recorded at all.

Now Channel 9 (9_1 -> 9_4) is a low signal quality, we're getting between 71 and 78% signal comming from it. My TV doesn't seem to have a problem displaying it (tho the cartoons tend to "fuzz" a bit periodically, which I assume is the signal dropping out enough to cause issues with the digital signal). Would a bad signal quality at the start of the broadcast cause Myth to simply NOT record any of the show or is there some other problem? This is a consistant issue in that I had 2 shows drop out yesterday and 2 or more so far drop out today. Yes, these are all being recorded off of one of the Channel 9 Digital subchannels.

And here's another "error" that doesn't look right.
2006-04-28 08:01:05.920 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2006-04-28 08:01:05.925 adding: ghost.wagnerweb.org as a client (events: 1)
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]Warning MVs not available
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]Warning MVs not available
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]skipped MB in I frame at 64 34
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]Warning MVs not available
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 3 42
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid mb type in P Frame at 6 42
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid mb type in P Frame at 57 0
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid mb type in P Frame at 3 3
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]slice mismatch
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 18 4
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 48 5
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 63 5
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 23 6
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 1 7
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 43 7
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 56 7
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 54 8
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]invalid cbp at 0 9
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 70 9
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 28 10
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 77 10
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 37 11
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 33 12
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 68 12
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 56 13
[mpeg2video @ 0x6c87644]ac-tex damaged at 55 13
<snip more of the above>
2006-04-28 08:34:35.149 Commercial Flagging Finished, 4 break(s) found.
0: start_time: 8106.567 duration: 163.570
1: start_time: 8106.516 duration: 163.575

Lastly, i'm guessing XvMC isn't working correctly, or all that well at least. The Frontend was throwing an error about the XvMCConfig file not existing, and when I put libXvMC.so in it (I'm using an NVidia FX 5700 card with the NVidia binary drivers installed for my kernel) I get an error thrown about not finding a certain function inside the Library (it's thrown at the point where you go into Live TV or start watching a broadcast), unfortunately i'm at work and don't have access to my frontend log (anyone starting up the frontend and outputting that frontend log out to somewhere? I forget the syntax to output both the standard out and standard error to a file...something like mythfrontend > /var/log/mythtv/frontend.log 2> /var/log/mythtv/frontend.log?)

Ok, think that's it for now. Big thanks in advance to anyone who might be able to help...the wife isn't going to put up with too many more dropped shows before she simply gives up on this whole thing...

And again, sorry for the OT.

--Douglas Wagner
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:16 pm Reply with quote
skow
 
Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 14




I'm also fairly new to this whole thing, but I have at least twice as much experience as you (6 days or so Wink ). I've found that MythTV gets extremely dissatisfied when the signal strength is low and I'm watching LiveTV. The front end sometimes totally dies and sometimes just sits there seemingly trying to get the signal back. The signal strength for that particular channel was only about 30% so it isn't surprising that it had issues. To fix the issue, I went to http://antennaweb.org and found the exact degrees that the stations were from us. Turns out that all of the stations but the one with issues could be received with a omni-directional antenna. The station with issues showed that it needed a directional antenna. I then found that the antenna which was installed by the previous owners to receive standard def was, in fact, pointing perpendicular to where it should be pointing. Anyway, I already had a new antenna so I used a compass to point it in the right direction resulting in the station coming in great. Fortunately the other stations still had high signal strength and I haven't had any trouble since.

I guess the bottom line is to make sure your antenna is pointed in the right direction and as high as possible (to get over other buildings/trees/etc).
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:25 pm Reply with quote
douglasw0
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 14




skow wrote:
I'm also fairly new to this whole thing, but I have at least twice as much experience as you (6 days or so Wink ). I've found that MythTV gets extremely dissatisfied when the signal strength is low and I'm watching LiveTV. The front end sometimes totally dies and sometimes just sits there seemingly trying to get the signal back. The signal strength for that particular channel was only about 30% so it isn't surprising that it had issues. To fix the issue, I went to http://antennaweb.org and found the exact degrees that the stations were from us. Turns out that all of the stations but the one with issues could be received with a omni-directional antenna. The station with issues showed that it needed a directional antenna. I then found that the antenna which was installed by the previous owners to receive standard def was, in fact, pointing perpendicular to where it should be pointing. Anyway, I already had a new antenna so I used a compass to point it in the right direction resulting in the station coming in great. Fortunately the other stations still had high signal strength and I haven't had any trouble since.

I guess the bottom line is to make sure your antenna is pointed in the right direction and as high as possible (to get over other buildings/trees/etc).


Yep, been through that, installed an older antenna. It's rated for yellow/darkgreen, the station i'm trying to get in is in the light blue (large multi-directional) range...fortunately however, even though it's in the roof, I still seem to get acceptable signal levels, don't ask me how. Luckily enough, it's also pointed in the correct direction as well, so that too is a nice thing.

The channel is considered out of range for the antenna i've got. So I KNOW the signal level is low (as I said, Myth is reporting it consistantly in the low to mid 70%s), what i'm trying to figure out is whether this is what's causing the thing not to be able to record or if i've got some kind of OTHER error/issue with MythTV that I have yet to manage to find.

--Doug
View user's profile Send private message
OT: MythTV Dropping Record
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin