Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> ALL channels "out of range" - bad card? Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
ALL channels "out of range" - bad card?
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 2:14 pm Reply with quote
appleton
 
Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 14




Hi.
I am testing a intended mythtv box on Comcast HDTV.
I have a 3000 card (along with an nvidia agp card) on a 2.6.12 kernel amd64 machine (Debian Etch). I have a lot of experience on this platform and it has worked splendidly for all of my other applications, services, etc.
Both firmware for this card (dvb-fe-or51132-qam.fw and dvb-fe-or51132-vsb.fw) are installed but a tail of dmesg only shows one:
or51132: Waiting for firmware upload(dvb-fe-or51132-vsb.fw)...
or51132: Version: 10001134-19430000 (113-4-194-3)
or51132: Firmware upload complete.

Using the tool from dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.1,
./dtvscan /dev/video0
gives a fast scroll of the channels and
./dtvscan
attempts to open /dev/dvb (which does exist) and gives a slow scroll of channels. Outputting to a file gives an empty file for both command lines above.

(1) I want both analog and digital channels. How can I load both firmware?
(2) If I remove dvb-fe-or51132-vsb.fw (leaving only dvb-fe-or51132-qam.fw) and then do ./dtvscan, dmesg shows,
or51132: Waiting for firmware upload(dvb-fe-or51132-vsb.fw)...
or51132: No firmware uploaded(timeout or file not found?)
Is this correct? Why is the qam not loading?
(3) Where is the programs atscscan that other forum entries have mentioned? The only scan that I've found from pchdtv.com's download page is dtvscan from dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.1.
(4) After ./dtvscan, dmesg shows no change. Why, after ./dtvscan /dev/video0 does dmesg shows these new lines?
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (963.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (969.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (975.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (981.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (987.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (993.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (999.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1005.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1011.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1017.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1023.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1029.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1035.25) out of range (44-958)
tuner 2-0061: TV freq (1041.25) out of range (44-958)
(5) An hdtv is hooked up elsewhere (with an advertisement-laden channel box), so I know that I am receiving hdtv. I have another cap card (ATI) on another machine (I am swapping the co-ax between the other machine and the one with the 3000 card), so I know that I have analog cable here (and certainly hdtv -- there's just one hdtv and it's too big to move from room to room, though). I can't synchronize *any* channels with the 3000 card. Could the card just be defective?

I appreciate any response. (I have issues with xine on amd64 and have started another thread for them.)
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:21 pm Reply with quote
speed301
 
Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 11




Look in http://linuxtv.org/hg/dvb-apps for archive that has the atscscan program as well as others like azap.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 3:23 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




VSB is for over the air digital channels. You have cable, so all you want is QAM. The VSB firmware is useless with cable.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 5:12 am Reply with quote
kmj0577
 
Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 57




xyzzy wrote:
VSB is for over the air digital channels. You have cable, so all you want is QAM. The VSB firmware is useless with cable.

Yeah, stick the -q flag in for dtvscan.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 7:23 am Reply with quote
appleton
 
Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 14




Thanks for the replies.

(1) http://linuxtv.org/hg/dvb-apps <-- I am unable to download .bz or .gz files from that site -- only individual files. Is the site malfunctioning right now? Is there an alternative location for dvb-apps?

(2) The -q flag helped a lot, but I had curious output. The scan had one recurring error:
`ERROR vct item ptr null couldn't get channel info
and two other errors, each of which occurred once:
look for sync
demux_ts: demux error! invalid payload size -72
Unable to recieve valid packets
no pid or atsc tables found
and
demux_ts: FIXME: (unsupported) PAT consists of multiple (255) sections
Are these errors normal? I am presuming they are because in my years of experience I have never had such an ordeal as with this card and mythtv.

(3) On the topic of mythtv, it insists on trying to scan /dev/video0 -- and every single channel times out giving me nothing. Is this normal, for mythtv not to work with the HD-3000?!?! (I am deeply disappointed that hardware designed for linux would be by far the hardest thing I have ever tried to make work properly in linux.) How can I tell myth to scan /dev/dtv? (dtvscan -q scanned /dev/dtv and not /dev/video0.)

(4) By the way, channels.conf (made by dtvscan -q -o channels.conf) reads,
: :38.1 :38: 2:1
: :78.1 :78: 2:1
: :80.1 :80: 2:1
: :81.1 :81: 2:1
: :82.1 :82: 2:1
: :84.1 :84: 2:1
: :85.1 :85: 2:1
: :86.1 :86: 2:1
: :89.1 :89: 2:1
: :90.1 :90: 2:1
: :92.1 :92: 2:1
: :93.1 :93: 2:1
: :100.1 :100: 2:1
: :102.1 :102: 2:1
: :103.1 :103: 2:1
: :106.1 :106: 2:1
: :109.1 :109: 2:1
: :114.1 :114: 2:1
: :115.1 :115: 2:1
: :116.1 :116: 2:1
: :119.1 :119: 2:1

This is missing entries that others' output has. This conf appears to have the right format -- but does it have the right content? Isn't it missing the first two entries on each line?

(I am unable to post to the xine-hd forum for some reason. I will explain my xine-hd issues if I ever solve these 3000-related issues.)
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:56 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




You wouldn't have selected pdHDTV when you set up the card, by chance?
That would select the old v4l drivers. You will want to delete that card setup and add a new one. This time selecting dvb for the card. Shutdown the backend first ( /sbin/service mythbackend stop on Fedora 4).

You may need to download your channel lineup from zap2it before it will let you scan for channels.

OT- Would you be in Appleton, WIsconsin? I'm in Franklin, WI (Milwaukee).

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 12:10 pm Reply with quote
appleton
 
Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 14




ah-HA! Thanks. At this point, I feel that stumbling block is a sort of designed-in feature to confuse.

Ok, now, I am scanning cable QAM256 (with good s/n) and getting some locks, but all channels still say timed out in mythtv.

I have downloaded linuxtv-dvb-apps-1.1.0, but it does not contain the seemingly legendary atscscan?

I am presuming I need to find some additional information before I can actually see a channel with some sort of program. I can't compile xine-hd-lib, so I figured I would just test the card's functioning with mythtv, but I have to add some channels first. What information do I need to scan successfully for channels?

Also, I would like to have this box *not* connected to the internet -- and I would really prefer not to connect to zap2it (at least for now) if I can avoid it. Is there a way for me *not* to use mythfilldatabase -- or at least to avoid connecting to zap2it before I start?


OT- alas, I am not your neighbor, save on the Internet. Wink
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:26 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I can't help you any on QAM. But if you're not familiar with the MythTV archives, here's a link to them, after I did a search for "qam":

MythTV & QAM

As for viewing live TV, I can't get MythTV to display a viewable HD broadcast. Some in this forum say they use mplayer. I have not tried this myself.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 5:53 pm Reply with quote
speed301
 
Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 11




appleton,

Try this link:

http://linuxtv.org/hg/dvb-apps?ca=8acee3ab9832;type=gz


It is a link to all of the files in a tgz archive. Unpack them and then navigate to the app you want to use. If you want to use the atscscan app then follow these steps to build. Your archive name may vary depending on which archive you downlowd.

Code:

tar -xzvf hg-dvb-apps-787c4c740d54.tar.gz
cd hg-dvb-apps-787c4c740d54/
cd util/
cd scan/
make


At this point you should have the atscscan binary that you want. Also read the README file for some insight on how to use the app.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:38 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




If you want a channel scanner that is known to work with the HD-3000 and the new DVB drivers, try my atscscan tool:
http://www.speakeasy.org/~xyzzy/download/atscscan
md5sum 862e95d4c469242e174c5d175b67851a

This is completely new ATSC scanning tool that isn't based in any way on the other program of the same name. I suppose I should have come up with a new name, but I can't think of a good one.

My progam works very well with my Comcast digital cable. It can generate a verbose description of the program information or a channels.conf file. It supports azap's format, as well as mplayer's extended format that helps with stream auto-detection and supports multiple audio streams.

It should support OTA as well as digital cable, but I don't have an antenna so I haven't tested that.

Example of mplayer channels.conf output for single channel: atscscan -m 84
Code:

C84.1:585000000:QAM_256:35+38:39:1
C84.2:585000000:QAM_256:33+34:36+37:2


Example verbose output for the same channel: atscscan 84
Code:

Using DVB adapter #0
Using Standard US Cable frequencies w/ QAM
Using front-end: Oren OR51132 VSB/QAM Frontend
Tuner range 44 MHz to 958 MHz, 166666 Hz stepsize
Front-end capabilities:
  VSB-8
  QAM-64
  QAM-256
  QAM-AUTO
Tuning to channel 84 (585 MHz): # LOCK Strength = 97.2%
Turner reports 585.000000 MHz, modulation 256-QAM
Waiting for PAT...
section start found (pointer 0), syncronized
table starts 5 bytes into packet
table_id = 0
section_syntax_indicator (1) = 1
0 = 0
section_length = 17
transport_stream_id = 32951
version_number = 23
current_next_indicator = 1
section_number = 0
last_section_number = 0
Number of programs: 2
  program_number = 1
  program_map_PID = 35
  program_number = 2
  program_map_PID = 33
Looking at program 1, PMT PID 35
section start found (pointer 0), syncronized
table starts 5 bytes into packet
table_id = 2
section_syntax_indicator (1) = 1
0 = 0
section_length (<=1021) = 29
program_number = 1
version_number = 6
current_next_indicator = 1
section_number (0) = 0
last_section_number (0) = 0
PCR_PID = 38
program_info_length = 0
Stream 0:
  stream_type = 0x02
  elementary_PID = 38
  ES_info_length = 0
Stream 1:
  stream_type = 0x81
  elementary_PID = 39
  ES_info_length = 6
  ES descriptor: tag = 10, len = 4: ISO 639 language descriptor
    language = eng
    audio type = 0
CRC = 769280c6
Looking at program 2, PMT PID 33
section start found (pointer 0), syncronized
table starts 5 bytes into packet
table_id = 2
section_syntax_indicator (1) = 1
0 = 0
section_length (<=1021) = 51
program_number = 2
version_number = 6
current_next_indicator = 1
section_number (0) = 0
last_section_number (0) = 0
PCR_PID = 34
program_info_length = 6
program descriptor: tag = 9, len = 4: CA descriptor
  CA system ID = 18249
  CA PID = 33
Stream 0:
  stream_type = 0x81
  elementary_PID = 36
  ES_info_length = 6
  ES descriptor: tag = 10, len = 4: ISO 639 language descriptor
    language = eng
    audio type = 0
Stream 1:
  stream_type = 0x81
  elementary_PID = 37
  ES_info_length = 6
  ES descriptor: tag = 10, len = 4: ISO 639 language descriptor
    language = eng
    audio type = 0
Stream 2:
  stream_type = 0x86
  elementary_PID = 32
  ES_info_length = 0
Stream 3:
  stream_type = 0x02
  elementary_PID = 34
  ES_info_length = 0
CRC = 26f1e231


Last edited by xyzzy on Mon May 08, 2006 9:48 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
New Drivers?
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 7:45 pm Reply with quote
speed301
 
Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 11




xyzzy,

When you mention new drivers. What exactly are you talking about? I'm running the 2.6.13-15.8-default kernel and my HD-3000 is detected automatically with firmware from http://pchdtv.com/downloads/firmware.tar.gz placed in /lib/firmware/ on my system. Is there something else I can install that is more up to date. I ask because I'm having a lot of a52 errors on strong stations on both OTA and Time Warner Cable.
View user's profile Send private message
Re: New Drivers?
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 8:17 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




speed301 wrote:

When you mention new drivers. What exactly are you talking about?


Sorry, that wasn't clear. I mean the DVB based drivers. They are the ones that are standard with the kernel since 2.6 something. They provide a device directory with a name like /dev/dvb/adapter0 with devicers dvr0, frontend0, demux0, etc. in it. You should see "DVB" in the file /proc/devices.

You can get the newest version of these drivers from the Mercurial repository on http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb. You can use Merurial (it's like CVS) to get a copy of the newest source, or click on "tree" and then "bz2" to get a tarball. There are some HD-3000 related fixes and improvements that I have done that are in this version but not the newest kernel.

The old drivers are the V4L based ones, that come on the HD-3000 CD. They provide a single device named /dev/dtv. Development of these drivers stopped some time go. I do not think they ever came with the kernel. If you pick the "HD-3000" driver in MythTV, it tries to use these drivers, which is a very common mistake.

There are two basic causes of A52 errors in mplayer. The first is a number of bugs I found in mplayer's MPEG TS demuxer. You can find a thread here and on the mplayer devel list where I describe the bugs. This only effects audio, video is uneffected. The mplayer extended channels.conf generated by my atscscan program should avoid triggering these bugs.

The other cause is packet loss from the HD-3000 card. Many things can causes this. Weak signal, bad cable, sun spots, video card activity, an otherwise working power supply, bad RF sealing on the case, gremlins, phase of the moon, etc. Maybe not that last two, but the others are real. This can effect both audio and video. mplayer just spits out more errors for glitches in the audio than it does for glitches in the video, and audio errors are usually more noticable.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 9:27 am Reply with quote
appleton
 
Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 14




Progress report.

(1) xyzzy -- thanks for the binary. The md5 checksum matched, but I could not use your program for reasons shown below.
./atscscan
-bash: ./atscscan: No such file or directory

By the way, I am using Debian Etch with a 2.6.12 amd64 kernel. I do have "/dev/dvb/adapter0 with devicers dvr0, frontend0, demux0, etc. in it. "

(2) speed301 -- thanks for that link. It did not yield the atscscan binary. I did
cd hg-dvb-apps-8acee3ab9832/util/scan/
make
perl section_generate.pl atsc_psip_section.pl
CC scan.o
CC atsc_psip_section.o
CC diseqc.o
CC dump-vdr.o
CC dump-zap.o
CC lnb.o
CC section.o
LD scan

find . |grep atscscan <-- showed nothing.

I was able to compile sufficiently the cvs version and so found the mystical atscscan. (The compiling choked, but the cvs compiling went far enough to give me a working atscscan.)


(3) So, I proceeded thus with the cvs programs,
cd util/scan
./dvbscan -c
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
WARNING: filter timeout pid 0x1ffb
dumping lists (6 services)
[0259] (0x0259) 00: PCR 0x0800 A 0x0801 (eng)
[025a] (0x025a) 00: PCR 0x0840 A 0x0841 (eng)
[025c] (0x025c) 00: PCR 0x0881 A 0x0880 (eng)
[025f] (0x025f) 00: PCR 0x08c1 A 0x08c0
[0260] (0x0260) 00: PCR 0x0901 A 0x0900
[0263] (0x0263) 00: PCR 0x0940 A 0x0941 (eng) 0x0942 (spa) 0x0943 (por)


I then did,
./atscscan atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256 >> channels.conf
gave this several times
WARNING: filter timeout pid 0x0000
WARNING: filter timeout pid 0x1ffb
and finally gave a 279 line file that reads,
[0001]:309012500:QAM_256:2048:2049:1
[0002]:309012500:QAM_256:2112:2113:2
[0001]:549000000:QAM_256:0:2049:1
[0002]:549000000:QAM_256:0:2113:2
[0003]:549000000:QAM_256:0:2177:3
etc.

Now what? What is the use of this output?
Also, how can I build the database or simply avoid its use for mythtv on a box without an internet connection?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 10:13 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




appleton wrote:

(1) xyzzy -- thanks for the binary. The md5 checksum matched, but I could not use your program for reasons shown below.
./atscscan
-bash: ./atscscan: No such file or directory

You must not have the ability to run 32-bit binaries? Probably some kind of compatability library is needed.

But I don't know how you import a list of channels into MythTV, you might have better luck with that on the MythTV boards.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 11:18 am Reply with quote
speed301
 
Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 11




Doesn't he just have to put the resulting channels.conf file in some directory like .myth ? That's the way it works with xine. I put my channels.conf file in ~/.xine. Of course I don't run mythtv, but I'm just assuming they could be similar.

Also you should probably use a single > becuase the >> will append to your channels.conf file instead of making a new one everytime. If you append you're going to get repeats of the channel data.

./atscscan atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256 > channels.conf

Check this thread it may have the info you need.

http://pchdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1325&highlight=channels+conf+format

And this wiki from the mythtv site.
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Adding_QAM_Channels_For_HDTV_Tuner_Cards

Hopes this helps!
View user's profile Send private message
ALL channels "out of range" - bad card?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 2  
Goto page 1, 2  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin