Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> its installed, now what? no signal! Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
its installed, now what? no signal!
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:49 am Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, i have everything installed and loaded. it seems to be loading correctly. but i dont find any channels or get any signal, but i am not sure if i am doing it right. The environment gentoo with the latest kernel 2.6.16-r8 compiled and installed, the pchdtv drivers installed and loaded,
I am connected to Comcast cable in Dallas, TX.
no erros that i saw.
dmesg has this in the startup

cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.5 loaded
CORE cx88[0]: subsystem: 7063:5500, board: pcHDTV HD5500 HDTV [card=47,autodetected]
TV tuner 64 at 0x1fe, Radio tuner -1 at 0x1fe
cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.5 loaded
cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:00:0b.0, rev: 5, irq: 209, latency: 32, mmio: 0xd3000000
tuner 1-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx88[0])
tuner 1-0061: type set to 64 (LG TDVS-H062F/TUA6034)
tda9887 1-0043: chip found @ 0x86 (cx88[0])
cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:0b.2[A] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 209
cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:00:0b.2, rev: 5, irq: 209, latency: 32, mmio: 0xd4000000
cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based dvb card
DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0]).
DVB: registering frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3303 VSB/QAM Frontend)...
cx2388x blackbird driver version 0.0.5 loaded

lsmod shows this

cx88_blackbird 17456 0
tda9887 16400 0
tuner 52140 0
cx88_dvb 12292 0
cx8802 10500 2 cx88_blackbird,cx88_dvb
cx8800 28684 1 cx88_blackbird
cx88xx 58916 4 cx88_blackbird,cx88_dvb,cx8802,cx8800
ir_common 25476 1 cx88xx
cx88_vp3054_i2c 4992 1 cx88_dvb
mt352 6660 1 cx88_dvb
or51132 8964 1 cx88_dvb
video_buf_dvb 5380 1 cx88_dvb
nxt200x 13316 1 cx88_dvb
zl10353 5252 1 cx88_dvb
cx24123 13448 1 cx88_dvb
lgdt330x 8604 1 cx88_dvb
dvb_core 72924 3 or51132,video_buf_dvb,lgdt330x
cx22702 6532 1 cx88_dvb
dvb_pll 11780 4 cx88_dvb,or51132,nxt200x,cx22702
video_buf 20996 6 cx88_blackbird,cx88_dvb,cx8802,cx8800,cx88xx,video_buf_dvb
tveeprom 15504 1 cx88xx
compat_ioctl32 8192 1 cx8800
v4l2_common 15744 4 cx88_blackbird,tuner,cx8800,compat_ioctl32
v4l1_compat 11268 1 cx8800
btcx_risc 4744 3 cx8802,cx8800,cx88xx
videodev 9216 3 cx88_blackbird,cx8800,cx88xx

I do get the following in dmesg when i try to do a scan of the channels but not sure where to look.

cx88[0]/2: cx8802_timeout

This is the last thing keeping me from moving forward to install and use mythtv. Does anyone have any ideas or questions that may help?


Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 2:44 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




Well, first things first, hopefully Comcast is sending at least your local HD channels in the clear.

You could try dtvscan from the linux/tools/dvb-atsc-tools directory from the CD. Copy the directory and do a make. Then do ./dtvscan -q -d 0 -o channels.conf

That should show you what channels you can receive in the clear from your cable provider.

Rusty

p.s. You might want to blacklist the cx88-blackbird module. IT isn't needed for the HD5500 and can sometimes load before the cx88-dvb module and make your system appear to not work.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 2:49 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




ok, it ran through a bunch of channel numbers, didnt seem to find anything. Created a 0 byte file and dmesg had the following output for every channel attempt.

lgdt330x: lgdt330x_set_parameters: Modulation type(6) UNSUPPORTED

Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 3:14 pm Reply with quote
pcHDTV_tech
 
Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 295




I'll look into what dtvscan is doing. I think (i don't have the code right here) it is using QAM_AUTO as the modulation type, because the HD3000 could auto-determine if it was QAM_64 or QAM_256. My guess is the new card doesn't have a QAM_AUTO mode, or it isn't yet supported in the drivers. I'll submit the problem to development. In the meantime, you could edit dtvscan.c searching for QAM_AUTO and replacing it with QAM_64 build and rename dtvscan to dtvscan_q64 then do the same using QAM_256. See if either of those helps you find some channels.

HTH,

Rusty
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sigh
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 5:14 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




ok, at least i am not getting any errors from dmesg anymore, but its still not finding any channels. I am going to try another coax tonight and see if its something with the cable. But if that doesnt work, im at a loss for the next step. From everything i read, i should at least see a few channels.


Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 6:15 pm Reply with quote
darkwire
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 7




Hmm this sound exactly like the problem I was having too, same error message. I just gave up and assumed my digital wasn't worth the effort at the time Razz

I guess I'll try Rusty's solution.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 7:47 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Well, even with a new coax, i am still not getting a signal. or any channels. I don't know what's wrong. Any ideas?




Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 8:21 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




You might try my atscscan program, available here http://www.speakeasy.org/~xyzzy/download/atscscan.

The default mode will provide lots of information about what it is doing, and what information it finds. It can also produce channels.conf files for mplayer's extended format, or for azap.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 8:47 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




ok, i get the following

atscscan -c -v -a /dev/dvb/adapter0/ -n -A 2
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
WARNING: filter timeout pid 0x0000
WARNING: filter timeout pid 0x1ffb
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:21 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




That's someone else's atscscan program. Mine is completely different code. I'm not sure what the problem you are having is, so no promise it will work. It will at least produce more useful output, that could help solve the problem or at least identify it.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 6:51 am Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, i get this with your version..

atscscan V1.2 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
Using DVB adapter #0
Using Standard US Cable frequencies w/ QAM
Using front-end: LG Electronics LGDT3303 VSB/QAM Frontend
Tuner range 54 MHz to 863 MHz, 62500 Hz stepsize
Front-end capabilities:
VSB-8
QAM-64
QAM-256
QAM Auto not supported, falling back to 256-QAM
Channel 1 out of range
Tuning to channel 2 (57.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 3 (63.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 4 (69.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
.
.
.


any ideas? looks like something wrong on the driver level/card level.

Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 1:36 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




Digital cable channels are usually in the range 79 to 120, did you try scanning those?

Do you know that your digital cable works at all? Do you have a TV with a QAM tuner, or a HD STB from Comcast?

If you can, try testing the cable you are trying to use with the HD-5500 with something that you know works elsewhere. It could be that you have a bad cable or there is a splitter somewhere that can't handle digital.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 1:55 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




The cable works fine, i have 2 comcast dvr boxes working fine, had one on that outlet originaly to test. I tried scanning up to 150, but i will try again to see if the channels are just hiding <g>

Ok, this is what i get

./atscscan -c 79 120
atscscan V1.2 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
Using DVB adapter #0
Using Standard US Cable frequencies w/ QAM
Using front-end: LG Electronics LGDT3303 VSB/QAM Frontend
Tuner range 54 MHz to 863 MHz, 62500 Hz stepsize
Front-end capabilities:
VSB-8
QAM-64
QAM-256
QAM Auto not supported, falling back to 256-QAM
Tuning to channel 79 (555.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 80 (561.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 81 (567.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 82 (573.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 83 (579.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 84 (585.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 85 (591.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 86 (597.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 87 (603.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 88 (609.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 89 (615.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 90 (621.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 91 (627.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 92 (633.0000 MHz): # LOCK Strength = 100.0%
Turner reports 633.000000 MHz, modulation 256-QAM
Waiting for PAT...

then it just hangs, never going any farther.


Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 2:06 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, i skipped 92 and 93 and went on. Got a hit on several channels from there.

here are the channels i get
105-107 lock and info
108 lock, but lots of "No payload"
109-114 lock and info
117-119 lock and info


I may go back and rescan the entire range again just to be sure i didnt miss any channels.
now, how do i save it for xine?

Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 2:52 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




You might want to read the help text that atscscan prints when you run it with no options, that should explain some things, like how to get a channel list for mplayer/azap/xine.

If you have a DCTxxxx DVR from Comcast, you can find what channel something is on with the service menu.

Set the DVR to a channel you want to know about, like a local HD channel that you should be able to get on your computer.

Turn the DVR off and then quickly push OK twice on the remote. You have to turn it all the way off, if it's still recording it won't work. You have about a second after you push power to push ok.

Go to "current channel status". You'll then see "Primary AV source:", with either "IB Tuner 1" or "IB Tuner 2". If it says tuner 1, then the frequency under tuner 1 is the frequency that channel is on. If it says tuner 2, go down to the next page to see the frequency. If it says 'ENC' the channel is encrypted and you can't get it, if it says 'UNK' then its clear an you can get it.

If you go back to the main menu, and pick "Inband Status" you can see what modulation (should be 256-QAM) the tuners are using and the signal quality. My SNR is about 34.5 dB and AGC is about 50%, both "good". If you have "poor" than that could be the problem.

If the frequencies you get from the DVR are slightly different that the ones atscscan is printing, then you could be using the HRC cable frequencies. atscscan has an option to use those frequencies.
View user's profile Send private message
its installed, now what? no signal!
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 3  
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin