Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> its installed, now what? no signal! Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 2:58 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, thanks, that should help me get it working, but i did notice that the only options i have to channels.conf output are -a for azap and -m for mplayer... no option for xine


Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 4:34 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




I don't use xine, but I think it uses the same format as azap. mplayer also uses the same format, but allows for the some extra information that azap doesn't understand.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:43 pm Reply with quote
Drag0n
 
Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 14




Ok, this is getting tiring. I am able to see channel information via the atscscan i downloaded from xyzzy so i know the card works, but i am unable to access any of these channels via any other application. Mythtv does not see anything, the channel outputs arent recognised from xine or mplayer. I have now tried this on 2 different distributions, gentoo and slackware. everything loads, everything runs, but the dtv tools and the atsc tools do not seem to be working at all. Is there any update on the correction to these tools?


Drag0n
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:28 am Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




xyzzy,

I'm getting an error when running your atscscan script:
Code:

[root@mythtv ~]# ./atscscan -o -v -a -d 0 20 69
atscscan V1.3 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
Using DVB adapter #0
Outputting azap channels.conf format
Using OTA US Broadcast frequencies w/ 8-VSB
Tuning to channel 20 (509.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 21 (515.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 22 (521.0000 MHz): # LOCK Strength = 24.9%
FE_GET_FRONTEND: Operation not supported

It just hangs at this error. Recognize it? What am I doing wrong?

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:55 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




The error about get_frontend is expected. I read back the modulation and frequency from the card, since some hardware has the ability auto-detect the modulation or auto-finetune the frequency. The HD-2000 driver doesn't support reading this information back, so you get that error. atscscan should cope with this error.

I think the problem is that the card will sometimes report a lock when there is no station. This appears to happen more often with OTA than with cable. With cable, the card will return garbage data and atscscan will give up on the channel after a bit. With OTA, it doesn't return any data at all and atscscan will just sit there waiting for something.

I've uploaded a new version to the same place that will give up on a channel if it doesn't get any data for 5 seconds. This should allow it to continue scanning.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:36 pm Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




You may have introduced a bug in your quick fix:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# ./atscscan -o -v -a -d 0 22
atscscan V1.3 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
You may use at most of the m, a, and v options.

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:30 pm Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




Trent,

I changed my command line, but now there is a new error:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# ./atscscan -o -a -d 0 21 69
atscscan V1.3 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
Using DVB adapter #0
Outputting azap channels.conf format
Using OTA US Broadcast frequencies w/ 8-VSB
Tuning to channel 21 (515.0000 MHz): ######## Unable to tune channel
Tuning to channel 22 (521.0000 MHz): # LOCK Strength = 24.9%
FE_GET_FRONTEND: Operation not supported
done reading packet
Short read of TS packet, got 0 bytes
done reading packet
Short read of TS packet, got 0 bytes
done reading packet
Short read of TS packet, got 0 bytes

This just continues indefinitely. I ran dtvsignal on the same channel:
Code:
root@mythtv ~]# dtvsignal -dvb 0 22
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
tuning to 521000000 Hz
video pid 0x0021, audio pid 0x0024
dtvsignal ver 1.0.3 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002,2005,2006
channel = 22 freq = 521000000Hz
 30db       0%         25%         50%         75%        100%
Signal:     |     .     :     .     |     ._____:_____._____|
Signal: 084 $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:50 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




KenA wrote:
You may have introduced a bug in your quick fix:
Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# ./atscscan -o -v -a -d 0 22
atscscan V1.3 Copyright (C) 2006 Trent Piepho <xyzzy@speakeasy.org>
Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable channel scanning tool
You may use at most of the m, a, and v options.

No, that's intentional. -a prints out azap channels.conf format output, while -v prints out verbose output. You can't have both at once.

The short read messages should stop after 128, at which point it will give up on that channel. About how much time elapses between each short read message?

The 0 byte reads from the driver is very strange. It's not allowed to do that.

What does ls -l /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0 look like? Could you run strace -o log -t atscscan -v -o 22 and post or send me the log file?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:53 am Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




Code:
[root@mythtv ~]# ls -l /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 5 Jul 19 08:35 /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0

There's about 5 seconds between each short read message. Here is the log:
Code:
08:37:09 execve("./atscscan", ["atscscan", "-v", "-o", "22"], [/* 28 vars */])
= 0
08:37:09 brk(0)                         = 0x8a42000
08:37:09 mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb7f0d000
08:37:09 access("/etc/ld.so.preload", R_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
08:37:09 open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY) = 3
08:37:09 fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=101592, ...}) = 0
08:37:09 mmap2(NULL, 101592, PROT_READ, MAP_PRIVATE, 3, 0) = 0xb7ef4000
08:37:09 close(3)                       = 0
08:37:09 open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY) = 3
08:37:09 read(3, "\177ELF\1\1\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0\3\0\1\0\0\0Jxu\000"..., 512) = 512
08:37:09 fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0755, st_size=1532536, ...}) = 0
08:37:09 mmap2(0x742000, 1254780, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_DENYWRITE, 3, 0) = 0x742000
08:37:09 mmap2(0x86f000, 12288, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED|MAP_DENYWRITE, 3, 0x12d) = 0x86f000
08:37:09 mmap2(0x872000, 9596, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x872000
08:37:09 close(3)                       = 0
08:37:09 mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb7ef3000
08:37:09 set_thread_area({entry_number:-1 -> 6, base_addr:0xb7ef36c0, limit:1048575, seg_32bit:1, contents:0, read_exec_only:0, limit_in_pages:1, seg_not_present:0, useable:1}) = 0
08:37:09 mprotect(0x86f000, 8192, PROT_READ) = 0
08:37:09 mprotect(0x73e000, 4096, PROT_READ) = 0
08:37:09 munmap(0xb7ef4000, 101592)     = 0
08:37:09 write(2, "atscscan V1.3 Copyright (C) 2006"..., 68) = 68
08:37:09 write(2, "Linux DVB based ATSC OTA/Cable c"..., 53) = 53
08:37:09 fstat64(1, {st_mode=S_IFCHR|0620, st_rdev=makedev(136, 0), ...}) = 0
08:37:09 mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xb7f0c000
08:37:09 write(1, "Using DVB adapter #0\n", 21) = 21
08:37:09 write(1, "Verbose output turned on\n", 25) = 25
08:37:09 write(1, "Using OTA US Broadcast frequenci"..., 44) = 44
08:37:09 open("/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0", O_RDWR) = 3
08:37:09 ioctl(3, 0x80a86f3d, 0xbfe0be80) = 0
08:37:09 write(1, "Using front-end: Oren OR51211 VS"..., 43) = 43
08:37:09 write(1, "Tuner range 44 MHz to 958 MHz, 1"..., 50) = 50
08:37:09 write(1, "Front-end capabilities:\n", 24) = 24
08:37:09 write(1, "  VSB-8\n", 8)       = 8
08:37:09 open("/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0", O_RDWR) = 4
08:37:09 ioctl(3, 0x40246f4c, 0xbfe0bea4) = 0
08:37:09 ioctl(3, 0x80046f45, 0xbfe0bec8) = 0
08:37:09 write(1, "Tuning to channel 22 (521.0000 M"..., 38) = 38
08:37:09 nanosleep({0, 250000000}, NULL) = 0
08:37:09 ioctl(3, 0x80046f45, 0xbfe0bec8) = 0
08:37:09 ioctl(3, 0x80026f47, 0xbfe0bece) = 0
08:37:10 write(1, " LOCK Strength = 24.9%\n", 23) = 23
08:37:10 ioctl(3, 0x80246f4d, 0xbfe0beb4) = -1 EOPNOTSUPP (Operation not supported)
08:37:10 write(2, "FE_GET_FRONTEND: Operation not s"..., 41) = 41
08:37:10 write(1, "Unable to read tuner status, ass"..., 71) = 71
08:37:10 write(1, "Waiting for PAT...\n", 19) = 19
08:37:10 open("/dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr0", O_RDONLY) = 5
08:37:10 ioctl(4, 0x40146f2c, 0xbfe0ae88) = 0
08:37:10 rt_sigaction(SIGALRM, {0x80491f0, [], SA_ONESHOT}, NULL, 8) = 0
08:37:10 alarm(5)                       = 0
08:37:10 read(5, "", 188)               = 0
08:37:15 --- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) @ 0 (0) ---
08:37:15 sigreturn()                    = ? (mask now [])
08:37:15 write(2, "done reading packet\n", 20) = 20
08:37:15 write(1, "Short read of TS packet, got 0 b"..., 37) = 37
08:37:15 rt_sigaction(SIGALRM, {0x80491f0, [], SA_ONESHOT}, NULL, 8) = 0
08:37:15 alarm(5)                       = 0
08:37:15 read(5, "", 188)               = 0

..snip..

08:47:50 --- SIGALRM (Alarm clock) @ 0 (0) ---
08:47:50 sigreturn()                    = ? (mask now [])
08:47:50 write(2, "done reading packet\n", 20) = 20
08:47:50 write(1, "Short read of TS packet, got 0 b"..., 37) = 37
08:47:50 write(1, "Payload unit start not found!\n", 30) = 30
08:47:50 write(1, "Error getting table!\n", 21) = 21
08:47:50 ioctl(4, 0x6f2a, 0x15)         = 0
08:47:50 close(5)                       = 0
08:47:50 write(1, "Unable to receive PAT, giving up"..., 49) = 49
08:47:50 close(3)                       = 0
08:47:50 close(4)                       = 0
08:47:50 exit_group(0)                  = ?

I've snipped the repeating lines. Let me know if you want me to email the complete log file to your speakeasy address.

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:34 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




It looks like there is some kind of kernel bug that is making the timeout not work like it should. What kernel and what version of the dvb drivers are you using?

I've uploaded a new version that should work around this bug. But it's not going to help you much, it will just report that it can't get any data on channel 22 and give up.

Have you tried entering your address on antennaweb.org and see what stations you should get? The Wxxx-DT stations are the digital ones. The "frequency assignment" column is the channel they will be on. e.g. WCBS is channel 2.1, but it's broadcasting on channel 56.

I did a check for some random address in New York, and channel 22 is WLIW-DT, some PBS station in Garden City. It could be that you have poor reception of WLIW and the tuner thinks it gets a lock, but you can't get any data.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:46 pm Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




xyzzy wrote:
It looks like there is some kind of kernel bug that is making the timeout not work like it should. What kernel and what version of the dvb drivers are you using?

I've uploaded a new version that should work around this bug. But it's not going to help you much, it will just report that it can't get any data on channel 22 and give up.

Have you tried entering your address on antennaweb.org and see what stations you should get? The Wxxx-DT stations are the digital ones. The "frequency assignment" column is the channel they will be on. e.g. WCBS is channel 2.1, but it's broadcasting on channel 56.

I did a check for some random address in New York, and channel 22 is WLIW-DT, some PBS station in Garden City. It could be that you have poor reception of WLIW and the tuner thinks it gets a lock, but you can't get any data.

I'm running FC5 with kernel 2.6.16-1.2122_FC5smp. I'm 7 miles from Garden City. Its the closest DT station. The reception is fine on my DirectTV-HD receiver (using OTA antenna) and my MyHD card in my WinXP box (same antenna). Its not a reception issue. While messing around with getatsc, I was able to capture a 10 second TS file, which I was able to view with mplayer. Unfortunately, I can't do it again.

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 6:33 am Reply with quote
KenA
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Location: LI, NY




Got everything working by upgrading to the 2.6.17 kernel. Thanks for your help.

_________________
»ken«
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:22 pm Reply with quote
Yippee38
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 10




I am having the exact same problem. I am running SUSE 10.0 with kernel 2.6.13-15 with a pcHDTV-5500. I installed the latest drivers (from the website), and the dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.3 (05/22/06). I haven't yet changed the QAM_AUTO line in the dtvscan.c, or tried anything after that in this thread. However, I'm pretty sure dtvscan isn't the only problem because dtvsignal never returns a signal, nor does the atscscan tool.

BTW, my cable provider is WideOpenWest (wowway.com). I've got digital cable, but not HD. I've tried connecting my coaxial cable directly to the wall jack, and to the output from the digital cable box (which they tell me is only needed for pay-per-view functionality).

Any suggestions?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:44 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




This is just an off chance, but there are three different sets of cable frequencies. This wouldn't apply to OTA. The standard and IRC frequencies are mostly the same, but HRC is different. You might try the HRC switch with atscscan and see if you can find anything.

I take it your cable box gets digital channels? If it's a motorola box, you can get the frequencies of the channels from a diagnostic menu, which would eliminate any "maybe there is no signal on that frequency" possibilities. It might be possible with SA boxes, but I don't know how.

It could also be that all your channels are encrypted, in which can you will never be able to get them on any computer with any hardware.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 7:46 am Reply with quote
Yippee38
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 10




xyzzy wrote:
This is just an off chance, but there are three different sets of cable frequencies. This wouldn't apply to OTA. The standard and IRC frequencies are mostly the same, but HRC is different. You might try the HRC switch with atscscan and see if you can find anything.


I'll try that next time I get a chance (probably in a couple of days).

Quote:
I take it your cable box gets digital channels? If it's a motorola box, you can get the frequencies of the channels from a diagnostic menu, which would eliminate any "maybe there is no signal on that frequency" possibilities. It might be possible with SA boxes, but I don't know how.


Yes. It gets digital channels. It is an SA box. I'll look into it to see if I can figure out how to get the frequencies.

Quote:
It could also be that all your channels are encrypted, in which can you will never be able to get them on any computer with any hardware.


If that's the case, doesn't the cable box have to decrypt the channels before sending them to the TV? And if so, shouldn't I be avoiding the encryption by taking the "cable out" signal from the cable box?

Thanks for the help.
View user's profile Send private message
its installed, now what? no signal!
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 2 of 3  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin