Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> HD-5500 & Digital Cable
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
HD-5500 & Digital Cable
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:59 am Reply with quote
griboyedov
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 4




I'm having some issues getting three 5500s I've installed to work with Cox digital cable (Phoenix, AZ). More specifically, any type of scan I run fails at every frequency.

The kernel modules compiled and are loading fine (I have entries at /dev/dvb/adapter0, /adapter1, and /adapter2). The tuners are SA3250HDs and are connected to the HD5500s over RF.

I'm running Gentoo 2.6.16. Some of the things I've tried that've failed:


Code:

# dtvscan -q -dvb 0 -fx
dtvscan ver 1.0.3 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002,2005,2006
channel = 2
channel = 3
channel = 4
channel = 5
channel = 6
channel = 7
channel = 8
channel = 9
channel = 10
channel = 11
channel = 12
channel = 13
channel = 14
channel = 15
channel = 16
channel = 17
channel = 18
channel = 19
channel = 20
channel = 21
channel = 22
channel = 23
channel = 24
channel = 25
...


dtvscan was the first thing I tried. I didn't think it would work, but I decided to try dtvsignal, too.

Code:

# dtvsignal -q -dvb 0 12
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
setting frontend to QAM cable
tuning to 207000000 Hz
video pid 0x0021, audio pid 0x0024
dtvsignal ver 1.0.3 - by Jack Kelliher (c) 2002,2005,2006
channel = 12  freq = 207000000Hz table 207
channel = 12 freq = 207000000Hz
 30db       0%         25%         50%         75%        100%
Signal:     |     .     :     .     |     ._____:_____._____|
Signal: 000 .


As I continued poking around for clues, scan was next.

Code:

# ./scan atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256
scanning atsc/us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
>>> tune to: 57000000:QAM_256
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
>>> tune to: 57000000:QAM_256 (tuning failed)
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
>>> tune to: 63000000:QAM_256
WARNING: >>> tuning failed!!!
>>> tune to: 63000000:QAM_256 (tuning failed)
ERROR: interrupted by SIGINT, dumping partial result...
dumping lists (0 services)
Done.


If I had let it continue without a SIGINT, it would have failed on all the tuning attempts. Scanning HRC produced the same result.

Here's my lsmod and lspci output, in case it's needed.

Code:

# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
it87                   24484  0
i2c_isa                 7232  1 it87
hwmon_vid               4416  1 it87
hwmon                   4616  1 it87
i2c_nforce2             8704  0
i2c_dev                11784  0
cx88_dvb               14212  0
cx8802                 12612  1 cx88_dvb
cx88xx                 60900  2 cx88_dvb,cx8802
ir_common              27332  1 cx88xx
btcx_risc               6536  2 cx8802,cx88xx
tveeprom               17360  1 cx88xx
videodev               11136  1 cx88xx
cx88_vp3054_i2c         6912  1 cx88_dvb
i2c_algo_bit           10376  2 cx88xx,cx88_vp3054_i2c
mt352                   8516  1 cx88_dvb
or51132                10756  1 cx88_dvb
video_buf_dvb           7236  1 cx88_dvb
video_buf              22916  4 cx88_dvb,cx8802,cx88xx,video_buf_dvb
nxt200x                15172  1 cx88_dvb
zl10353                 7108  1 cx88_dvb
cx24123                15304  1 cx88_dvb
lgdt330x               10396  1 cx88_dvb
dvb_core               76252  3 or51132,video_buf_dvb,lgdt330x
cx22702                 8324  1 cx88_dvb
i2c_core               22080  15 it87,i2c_isa,i2c_nforce2,i2c_dev,cx88_dvb,cx88xx,tveeprom,i2c_algo_bit,mt352,or51132,nxt200x,zl10353,cx24123,lgdt330x,cx22702
dvb_pll                13572  4 cx88_dvb,or51132,nxt200x,cx22702
dv1394                 20088  0
ohci1394               36232  1 dv1394
raw1394                28440  4
ieee1394              344632  3 dv1394,ohci1394,raw1394


Code:

# lspci | grep Conexant
09:06.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
09:06.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
09:06.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
09:06.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
09:07.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
09:07.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
09:07.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
09:07.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)
09:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)
09:08.1 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [Audio Port] (rev 05)
09:08.2 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [MPEG Port] (rev 05)
09:08.4 Multimedia controller: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [IR Port] (rev 05)


I bypassed the STB and went analog from the wall, and it was able to scan the stations, as well as capture from getatsc.

Any help at all is greatly appreciated.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:44 am Reply with quote
nybbler
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 125




Were you trying to get the signal from the output side of a set top box which connects via an RF cable to an analog TV? I'm pretty sure that won't work and isn't supposed to. Direct from the wall is what you should be using.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:40 am Reply with quote
griboyedov
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 4




Yes--I was attempting to go from the RF out on the STB to the 5500. I was under the impression that this would work. If not, guess I can take the three HD tuners back.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:53 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




Why would you even want to do that?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:08 pm Reply with quote
griboyedov
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 4




To get the digital channels from my cable provider that are only available with an STB. I can get analog without the STB, but there are several unencrypted channels that I'd like to be able to get in the digital lineup.

Apparently, though, using an STB with the 5500 isn't an option (something I didn't know), so I guess debating it is moot.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:29 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




I think most STBs don't pass the digital signal to their RF out. I suppose you could check by trying to chain the STBs from one to another and see if they work that way. The STB I get only has channel 3 on the RF out.

You'd be better off gettting a splitter, and connecting both the STBs and the HD-5500s to the splitter. Then connect the S-video output from the STB to the HD-5500 and the audio to a sound card. Now you should be able to capture the signal from the STB or a digital channel with the HD-5500. In theory, you could actually do both at the same time with one card.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:02 pm Reply with quote
nybbler
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 125




xyzzy wrote:
Now you should be able to capture the signal from the STB or a digital channel with the HD-5500. In theory, you could actually do both at the same time with one card.


Isn't the Conexant chip both the PCI gateway for the MPEG-2 data and the video ADC? If that's so, you can't do both at the same time.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:40 pm Reply with quote
griboyedov
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 4




I have actually captured video over RF using my TiVo, so I know it's broadcast over the RF. I've also read somewhere that my cable provider (Cox) doesn't broadcast the PID--not sure if this would cause some issues with a frequency scan or not.

I'll try capturing over s-video and post the results.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:01 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




nybbler wrote:
Isn't the Conexant chip both the PCI gateway for the MPEG-2 data and the video ADC? If that's so, you can't do both at the same time.


It does handle both, but it is able to handle mutiple streams at the same time. The analog capture and the mpeg transfer are different pci functions. I'm pretty sure the chip can do both at once. What I'm not sure is if the Linux drivers will work. I'll have to try it.

And it works! I was able to watch a DVD player conntected via S-Video and watch a digital station with mplayer at the same time using a single HD-3000 card.

So, you can use your digital STB. Get splitter that's rated for digital cable, and connect one leg to the STB and the other to the HD card. Then connect your STB's S-Video output to the HD card and the STB's audio out to a soundcard. Now you can analog capture the STB with V4L, and digital capture another channel with DVB, at the same time. Note that analog is limited to SD resolutions, it can't do HD.
View user's profile Send private message
HD-5500 & Digital Cable
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin