Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> pchdtv-5500 questions
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
pchdtv-5500 questions
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:08 am Reply with quote
nukem
 
Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 3




So im thinking of getting the pchdtv-5500 and I have a couple of questions before I buy it.

1. Since there is no mpeg encoders how big are shows recorded in HDTV and in NTSC TV uncompressed and compressed(a 1/2 hour show for example)?
2. How much CPU does it take to compress HDTV and NTSC?
3. My cable provider offers digital cable via a box(im assuming that decryptes it), if I hook the box up to the pchdtv-5500 will I be able to view the encrypted channels?

Thanks,

nuke
View user's profile Send private message
Re: pchdtv-5500 questions
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:45 am Reply with quote
PeterKnaggs
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Posts: 54




nukem wrote:
So im thinking of getting the pchdtv-5500 and I have a couple of questions before I buy it.

Eh, me too. I have two HD-3000, and kernel support for
them is only rock solid with Inkling's drivers.
Quote:

1. Since there is no mpeg encoders how big are shows recorded in HDTV and in NTSC TV uncompressed and compressed(a 1/2 hour show for example)?

Well, let's forget about NTSC for now. There are no MPEG
encoders at the receiving end, because they are at the
sending end. The pcHDTV card receives ATSC transport
stream which contains the MPEG, so you don't need to do
any encoding for ATSC. You can see examples of what
sizes to expect here: http://www.w6rz.net/
The samples are quite short, less than a minute, and each of
them contains a single program, which should give you an
idea of the disk space requirements. Normally the ATSC
transport stream will contain a "bouquet" of programs,
I guess called virtual channels, which eats up even more
disk space. The dvb API allows you to select the VC, or
preferably use Inkling's pchdtvr. So the answer on size is,
it depends: many channels are just "standard definition"
so they'll need a lot less disk space.
The 1080i/29.97 stuff (at a 1920x1088 resolution), uses
up a lot more disk space and there's probably little incentive
to transcode it as it's very time consuming and the result
isn't terribly pretty any more. I wrote up some guides here:
http://www.penlug.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/DigitalTelevision
http://www.penlug.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/DigitalTelevisionDVB
Quote:

2. How much CPU does it take to compress HDTV and NTSC?

I haven't done anything with NTSC (except occasional use
of "tvtime").
Again, for ATSC, it depends a lot on the resolution.
But it's a lot more time-consuming than DVD resolution
transcoding, with far less reliability due to the source
material usually containing reception glitches. So transcoding
using mplayer tends to be the most reliable (if doing it at all).
Quote:

3. My cable provider offers digital cable via a box(im assuming that decryptes it), if I hook the box up to the pchdtv-5500 will I be able to view the encrypted channels?

I don't use cable, so no experience, although I understand
the pcHDTV card does have QAM support. So it will
presumably be able to dump the encrypted content to
the disk. It will be up to you to decrypt it, I guess.
The main use of the pcHDTV card would be to receive over-the-air ATSC, although there are probably still a fair
number of plaintext channels available over cable in some
areas (search for QAM in these forums for more reports).
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Re: pchdtv-5500 questions
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:13 am Reply with quote
nybbler
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 125




nukem wrote:

3. My cable provider offers digital cable via a box(im assuming that decryptes it), if I hook the box up to the pchdtv-5500 will I be able to view the encrypted channels?


You will not be able to view the encrypted channels as digital channels, but the card can digitize the analog output of the box. If that's what you want to do, there are cheaper options.
View user's profile Send private message
Re: pchdtv-5500 questions
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:15 pm Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




nybbler wrote:

You will not be able to view the encrypted channels as digital channels, but the card can digitize the analog output of the box. If that's what you want to do, there are cheaper options.

And of course the analog output from the composite or S-Video ports is NOT high-definition. A card that can capture the HD analog output from the component port is much more expensive.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:53 pm Reply with quote
nukem
 
Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 3




Well the box input a coaxial cable and out put a coaxial cable, which is then hooked up to a TV or PVR. This method does not use S-Video or anything like that. Another question I have is I have a normal indoor TV antenna, would this work with HDTV or do I have to buy a special HDTV antenna?

Thanks,

nuke
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:14 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




The coax cable output of the STB's I've seen doesn't have any digital channels at all on it. It just has the channel the box is tuned to as a normal SD analog signal on channel 3. But I don't know why anyone would use that with a TV made in the last 20 years, as you'll get much better quality using the composite output and stereo audio cables.

You don't need a special antenna for ATSC. The digital broadcasts are on different frequencies than the analog ones, and are often broadcast at less power, so your reception might not be the same. My digital reception is much better than my analog, and I don't even have an antenna, I just use a length of coax cable with the end stripped off.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:17 am Reply with quote
nukem
 
Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 3




Our cable company uses the box to decrypt channels like HBO on NTSC, which is why we need it now. They say that if I get digial cable I will need to hook my digial TV up through the digal cable box.
View user's profile Send private message
pchdtv-5500 questions
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin