pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> no audio when using pcHDTV 5500
no audio when using pcHDTV 5500
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:22 am Reply with quote
williammanda

I got the latest knoppmyth setup and running with a pvr-150 tuner. Everything was great. I removed the pvr-150 card and tried out my fusion hdtv5 rt gold card. I get video (mythtv) but no sound. I tried the pchdtv 5500 card and the same result...video but no sound. I tried the main sound for the computer at the desktop and I get no sound. So when I am using the 2 digital cards I get no sound on the system at all. When I remove the digital cards I get the system sound back. When I use the pvr-150 I get system sound and mythtv sound. I have looked at my irq's and everything is fine there, all separate irq's. I'm using KDE (since I'm new to linux and no very little about the command line) and I found this handy tool called KInfo Center. It gives me the sound device information.
Without the digital tv tuner cards:
Installed driver:
Type 10: ALSA emulation
Card Config:
HDA NVidia at 0xd5000000 irq 17 (onboard audio)
Audio devices:
0: AD198x Analog (DUPLEX)
Synth devices:
NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Midi devices:
NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Timers:
7: system timer
Mixers:
0: Analog devicesAD1986A

With one digital tuner card
Installed driver:
Type 10: ALSA emulation
Card Config:
Conexant CX8801 at 0xd4000000 (the digital card takes over the audio)
Audio devices:
0: CX88 Digital (same here, takes over)
Synth devices:
NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Midi devices:
NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG
Timers:
7: system timer
Mixers:
0: CX88 (again, takes over)

It seems that the digital card is overiding the onboard audio.
Please advise.
Thanks

I also posted this in the knoppmyth forum and found several other people had the same issue. I have not found any fix for this problem only a work around that doesn't set well with me.
The work around is to blacklist the audio CX88 which means I can't use the analog TV part.