Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics -> Playback of ts in Windows?
Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic 
Playback of ts in Windows?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:08 am Reply with quote
m0bilitee
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 17




I use getatsc under my linux box, and I have this nice powerful 6600GT in my Windows box. What software do I need to playback these ts files in Windows?

I'd prefer not to transcode, just watch them in full glory.

m0b
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:31 am Reply with quote
Guest
 




mplayer works fine for me (and with the ATI card I can use theater mode to my WEGA on DVI). I have the linux machine where the hd3000 is run samba and export the disk where the captures are held and play it over thet network. fast ethernet was not fast enough for mplayer without dropping frames, but it may be with the proper tuning that I didn't want to do. I needed to move to gigabit ethernet to read the ts file without dropping too many frames. My windows machine already had a gigabit ethernet jack that wasn't being used so it was just a matter of getting a gigabit ethernet card (~$25) for the linux machine. (you don't need crossover cables for 1000baseTX - just connect the two using the regular straight through cat5 cable.)
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:13 pm Reply with quote
m0bilitee
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 17




Thanks, that makes sense. I'm not too concerned with moving the files across the network for the time being. I'll copy them locally before viewing. I'm on a 100mbit switched network, thinking it might be time to move to gig. Smile

I am curious to see if other apps play this stuff.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:35 pm Reply with quote
m0bilitee
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 17




Also, could you post what options you use with mplayer? I scale it down but am constantly ending up with a black screen. I'm using the test.ts downloaded from the PCHDTV support link for current testing.

Sound is no problem, but no video displayed. I'm a newb on using mplayer under windoze.
View user's profile Send private message
100Mb works file for me.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:38 pm Reply with quote
mspice
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 36




100Mb network workds fine for playing the HDTV streams for me, but I use the .m2t files created by dtvstream. I'd suggest to everyone to try dtvstream instead of getatsc. Besides having better luck gettting the recordings, it can optionally also extract the sub-program that you are intersted in. The files take up less space but you don't loose anything. For instance, most channels around here broadcast an HDTV stream and a redundant DTV stream. Since I only want the high res HDTV, I only record that one. I end up with about 6.5 Gb/hour instead of 8-10. That may be why I am able to play them just fine over my network.

dtvstream can be downloaded here:http://www.buzzlabs.com/~peter/.

One last note, if you use the HD-3000 you may get some warnings that continuously spit out. From what I can tell, it is the fault of the driver, not dtvstream, and it can safely be ignored. You can pipe it to dev null if you want like so:

Code:
dtvstream -c 59 -p 2 -o filename.m2t 2>/dev/null


Mplayer for Linux plays these .m2t files just as it does the .ts files so I assume that the windows version of mplayer or another windows player probably play them just fine. Anyone know?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:01 pm Reply with quote
dacid
 
Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 13




Funny you should ask, I was just looking into this yesterday.
I'm using vlc (http://www.videolan.org/vlc/) - works great, is really easy to use.

I've tried using mplayer, but I'm having trouble viewing some 720p content (FOX football games to be specific).

Anyway, vlc worked well for me.

Dave
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:02 am Reply with quote
m0bilitee
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 17




dacid wrote:

Anyway, vlc worked well for me.

Dave


Does it work with the test.ts clip you can download from the support page? I'm messing around with that and getting audio but a blue 16:9 screen with no video. I'm on a P4-3ghz machine with an FX5200 card, so I think there is enough horsepower.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:16 pm Reply with quote
Scott Larson
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 713
Location: Portland, OR




dacid wrote:
I've tried using mplayer, but I'm having trouble viewing some 720p content (FOX football games to be specific).

What problem are you having? mplayer is the only player that works with 720p for me! Confused
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:09 pm Reply with quote
Guest
 




Yes i am using mplayer on windows using the (default for the windows build) directx video out device.

Before deciding I needed gigabit ethetnert, I tried dtvstream on the station I receive but they do not have anything on subchannels so I end up with a 9GB/hour .ts anyway. I agree dtvstream is really best for capturing one subchannel by itself and have used it on other stations.

Did not look at vlc on windows, but did use it on my Mac so I know it can handle it as well.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:28 pm Reply with quote
Guest
 




Scott Larson wrote:
dacid wrote:
I've tried using mplayer, but I'm having trouble viewing some 720p content (FOX football games to be specific).

What problem are you having? mplayer is the only player that works with 720p for me! Confused


When I try to play a 720p stream, mplayer gives me errors and dies after a second of displaying garbage.

Here the output I've gotten with 2 different programs:

Code:

Playing rec-fox.mpg.
Cache fill:  0.00% (0 bytes)   TS file format detected.
DEMUX OPEN, AUDIO_ID: -1, VIDEO_ID: -1, SUBTITLE_ID: -1,
PROBING UP TO 2000000, PROG: 0
VIDEO MPEG2(pid=33)...AUDIO A52(pid=36) SUB DVx(pid=70)  PROGRAM N. 2
Opened TS demuxer, audio: 2000(pid 36), video: 10000002(pid 33)...POS=54708
MPEG: FATAL: EOF while searching for sequence header.
Video: Cannot read properties.
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [liba52] AC3 decoding with liba52
No accelerated IMDCT transform found
AC3: 5.1 (3f+2r+lfe)  48000 Hz  448.0 kbit/s
No accelerated resampler found
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, 16 bit (0x10), ratio: 56000->192000 (448.0 kbit)
Selected audio codec: [a52] afm:liba52 (AC3-liba52)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/16bit -> 48000Hz/2ch/16bit...
AF_pre: af format: 2 bps, 2 ch, 48000 hz, little endian signed int
AF_pre: 48000Hz 2ch Signed 16-bit (Little-Endian)
AO: [oss] 48000Hz 2ch Signed 16-bit (Little-Endian) (2 bps)
Building audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/16bit -> 48000Hz/2ch/16bit...
Video: no video
Starting playback...
a52: CRC check failed!
a52: CRC check failed!
a52: CRC check failed!
a52: CRC check failed!
a52: CRC check failed!
A:      0.3  0.0% 87%
 
Exiting... (End of file)


Code:

Playing birds-pack.mpg.
Cache fill:  0.00% (0 bytes)   TS file format detected.
DEMUX OPEN, AUDIO_ID: -1, VIDEO_ID: -1, SUBTITLE_ID: -1,
PROBING UP TO 2000000, PROG: 0
VIDEO MPEG2(pid=65)...AUDIO A52(pid=70) SUB DVx(pid=36)  PROGRAM N. 4
Opened TS demuxer, audio: 2000(pid 70), video: 10000002(pid 65)...POS=345920
MPEG: FATAL: EOF while searching for sequence header.
Video: Cannot read properties.
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [liba52] AC3 decoding with liba52
No accelerated IMDCT transform found
A52 sync failed
ADecoder init failed :(
ADecoder init failed :(
Requested audio codec family [ac3] (afm=libac3) not available.
Enable it at compilation.
Opening audio decoder: [hwac3] AC3/DTS pass-through SP/DIF
No accelerated IMDCT transform found
hwac3: switched to AC3, 56000 bps, 48000 Hz
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, 16 bit (0x400), ratio: 7000->192000 (56.0 kbit)
Selected audio codec: [hwac3] afm:hwac3 (AC3 through SPDIF)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/16bit -> 48000Hz/2ch/8bit...
AF_pre: af format: 2 bps, 2 ch, 48000 hz, big endian AC3
AF_pre: 48000Hz 2ch AC3
Can't set audio device /dev/sound/dsp to AC3 output, trying S16...
AO: [oss] 48000Hz 2ch Signed 16-bit (Little-Endian) (2 bps)
Building audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/16bit -> 48000Hz/2ch/16bit...
[format] Sample format big endian AC3  not yet supported
[libaf] Reinitialization did not work, audio filter 'format' returned error code -2
Couldn't find matching filter / ao format!
Video: no video
Starting playback...
A:      0.0  0.0% 75%
 
Exiting... (End of file)


Thanks,
Dave
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:29 pm Reply with quote
Guest
 




m0bilitee wrote:
dacid wrote:

Anyway, vlc worked well for me.

Dave


Does it work with the test.ts clip you can download from the support page? I'm messing around with that and getting audio but a blue 16:9 screen with no video. I'm on a P4-3ghz machine with an FX5200 card, so I think there is enough horsepower.


Good question. I'll try this tommorrow and post back.

Dave
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:02 am Reply with quote
dacid
 
Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 13




Anonymous wrote:
m0bilitee wrote:
dacid wrote:

Anyway, vlc worked well for me.

Dave


Does it work with the test.ts clip you can download from the support page? I'm messing around with that and getting audio but a blue 16:9 screen with no video. I'm on a P4-3ghz machine with an FX5200 card, so I think there is enough horsepower.


Good question. I'll try this tommorrow and post back.

Dave


Ok - tried this out, and the test clip worked for me. I'm running on a P4 2.4 ghz, and the test clip played ok (no dropped frames) so I'm sure you have enough power.
One thing to check is the Navigation menu. Once you start playing the clip, click Navigation, then Program, and select subchannel 1.

FYI, I'm using VLC 0.8.1 for windows

Dave
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:43 am Reply with quote
m0bilitee
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 17




dacid wrote:

Ok - tried this out, and the test clip worked for me. I'm running on a P4 2.4 ghz, and the test clip played ok (no dropped frames) so I'm sure you have enough power.
One thing to check is the Navigation menu. Once you start playing the clip, click Navigation, then Program, and select subchannel 1.

FYI, I'm using VLC 0.8.1 for windows



Bizarre. I'm using the same version, and no go. I'll have to try another machine and see if it's localized to this one.

Changing the subchannel just produces a smaller blue screen. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 1:43 pm Reply with quote
Scott Larson
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 713
Location: Portland, OR




Anonymous wrote:
When I try to play a 720p stream, mplayer gives me errors and dies after a second of displaying garbage.

Here the output I've gotten with 2 different programs:

Code:

MPEG: FATAL: EOF while searching for sequence header.
Video: Cannot read properties.


Oh yeah. mplayer gives up if it doesn't see the sequence header pretty early in the stream and it pretends it read the whole file looking for it (liar!). I made some changes to parse_es.c (I think) to make it try harder and I don't have the problem any more. I'll check how I fixed it when I get home tonight.
View user's profile Send private message
Playback of ts in Windows?
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> General pcHDTV topics
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin