Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Non-Smooth/Freezing Playback with 5500 on Analog Cable
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Non-Smooth/Freezing Playback with 5500 on Analog Cable
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:37 pm Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




I finally got my MythTV running and while I have no problems with HD, my analog playback is bad. Its choppy and freezes about every second during playback. I cant imagine its my machine since its a AMD Athalon x2 4200 w/ 1GB of DDR2-6400 RAM, and SATA300 7200rpm Hardrives w/ 16MB buffers. Any ideas on how to make it smooth? It's almost like the hardrive isnt writing fast enough and maybe thats causing it to freeze, but these are fast drives. I am running it on Ubuntu 6.10d w/ 2.6.17-10 kernel. I am new to Linux, so forgive me if this is an easy fix? I just dont know if its hardware, OS, or MythTV related.

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:09 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




You could try to watch it with a seperate program, like TVTime or XAWTV. MythTV monopolizes the tuner, so you will have to stop MythTV first.

This is how I do it on Fedora and SuSE:
Code:
/sbin/service mythbackend stop

Ubuntu may be different.

You should be able to add TVTime with the Ubuntu Synaptic Package Manager.

Paul

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:09 am Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




waterhead wrote:
You could try to watch it with a seperate program, like TVTime or XAWTV. MythTV monopolizes the tuner, so you will have to stop MythTV first.

This is how I do it on Fedora and SuSE:
Code:
/sbin/service mythbackend stop

Ubuntu may be different.

You should be able to add TVTime with the Ubuntu Synaptic Package Manager.

Paul


Are you saying I shouldnt use the 5500 to record standard def or that I can record standard def cable with the 5500 but playback with another program? I guess if thats the case it defeats the purpose of the 5500 as as dual tuner card and that means ill have to get a seperate standard def tuner?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:16 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I only suggested it in order to pinpoint the problem. If it works ok in TVTime, then it may be a problem with MythTV.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:04 pm Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




waterhead wrote:
I only suggested it in order to pinpoint the problem. If it works ok in TVTime, then it may be a problem with MythTV.


you are right. It worked great in TVTime. Any ideas about what to change in MythTV to get it to work right??

UPDATE:

I got it to work by choosing DVB0 to use DVB1's analog tuner and vice versa. So when I tune HD on Card 0, it uses Card 0's HD tuner, but when I watch Analog cable on Card 0, it's getting its analog from Card 1. I wonder if this will be a problem when I record an HD and SD show?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:32 pm Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




Still having problems. Any help? My current setup wont allow me to watch analog while recording HD or vice-versa.

I just want each card to be able to tune HD and Analog. So I am back to square one.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:57 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




The card only has one tuner, so you can't tune to both a digital channel and an analog channel at the same time. It sounds like you have two cards? Then you should be able to tune two channels at once, provided you use both cards. If myth is trying to tune two channels at once using just one card, that won't work. It's also a myth configuration problem.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 2:21 pm Reply with quote
djseto
 
Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 15




xyzzy wrote:
The card only has one tuner, so you can't tune to both a digital channel and an analog channel at the same time. It sounds like you have two cards? Then you should be able to tune two channels at once, provided you use both cards. If myth is trying to tune two channels at once using just one card, that won't work. It's also a myth configuration problem.


I do have 2 cards, but thats not the issue. Even if I am not recording anything and I just try to watch Analog Cable, the sound is terrible and screen often goes green or the picture will never capture. Whats weird is this:

In my MythTV settings, if I change the "Analog" portion of my DVB configuration such that DVB Card 0 (my first 5500 card) is using /dev/video1 (my second 5500) card for Analog, it works fine. So in other words, when MythTV is using Card 0 for Analog cable, the cable is actually being pulled via Card 1. This works for playback purposes, but like you said, when I record an HD and Analog program at once, MythTV thinks its using different cards, but its actually trying to use the same card to tune 2 different things which I know is not possible. I should be able to set DVB Card 0 to use /dev/video0 for the analog portion which tells MythTV that Card 0 can tune HD or Analog. When I try to set it, thats when reception goes to crap. Make sense?
View user's profile Send private message
Non-Smooth/Freezing Playback with 5500 on Analog Cable
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin