pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Non-Smooth/Freezing Playback with 5500 on Analog Cable
Non-Smooth/Freezing Playback with 5500 on Analog Cable
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:37 pm Reply with quote
djseto

I finally got my MythTV running and while I have no problems with HD, my analog playback is bad. Its choppy and freezes about every second during playback. I cant imagine its my machine since its a AMD Athalon x2 4200 w/ 1GB of DDR2-6400 RAM, and SATA300 7200rpm Hardrives w/ 16MB buffers. Any ideas on how to make it smooth? It's almost like the hardrive isnt writing fast enough and maybe thats causing it to freeze, but these are fast drives. I am running it on Ubuntu 6.10d w/ 2.6.17-10 kernel. I am new to Linux, so forgive me if this is an easy fix? I just dont know if its hardware, OS, or MythTV related.

Thanks
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:09 am Reply with quote
waterhead

You could try to watch it with a seperate program, like TVTime or XAWTV. MythTV monopolizes the tuner, so you will have to stop MythTV first.

This is how I do it on Fedora and SuSE:
Code:
/sbin/service mythbackend stop

Ubuntu may be different.

You should be able to add TVTime with the Ubuntu Synaptic Package Manager.

Paul

1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:09 am Reply with quote
djseto

waterhead wrote:
You could try to watch it with a seperate program, like TVTime or XAWTV. MythTV monopolizes the tuner, so you will have to stop MythTV first.

This is how I do it on Fedora and SuSE:
Code:
/sbin/service mythbackend stop

Ubuntu may be different.

You should be able to add TVTime with the Ubuntu Synaptic Package Manager.

Paul