Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> scanning works, dtvsignal == 0, bad pids (bad card??)
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
scanning works, dtvsignal == 0, bad pids (bad card??)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:34 am Reply with quote
danomano
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 7




Slowly making progress...
Got mythtv and my pvr350 working piece of cake.

now, getting my 5500 working..is still causing issues.

so far I have only managed to get:
dtvscan to work, generating a channels.conf as shown below

using dtvsignal..(what channel number do i pass it?????)
I have tried:

dtvsignal 4.1 5.1, 13.1 (I get these channels on my TV's ATSC tuner)
Those numbers all result in 0 signal..

dtvsignal komo-dt (just fails..can't grok channel)

Using AZAP, when ever I tune to any of the channels below (with the callsign), it reports bad PIDs.

Apparently I have the version of xine that doesn't grok -C so...skiping that test.

So if the system is able to discover the channels below (it must be parsing pids to decode that channel info no..as such it must have signal?? what gives..am I doing something wrong?? (ps. Im running: 2.6.20-1.2944.fc6)

channels.conf
KTBW-D1:473000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KTBW-D2:473000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
KTBW-D3:473000000:8VSB:0x51:0x54:0x05
KTBW-D4:473000000:8VSB:0x61:0x64:0x06
KTBW-D5:473000000:8VSB:0x71:0x74:0x07
KONG-DT:575000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KONG-SD:575000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
KOMO-DT:617000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:38 am Reply with quote
xyzzy
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 225




You probably pass dtvsignal the number of the channel the station is on. The channels on your tv are the remapped channels. komo isn't on channel 4, as their analog signal is on that channel. They are on channel 38.

I wonder if your channels.conf is in the wrong format. I use "VSB_8" instead of "8VSB" in mine. Maybe azap has been changed since I looked at it to accept that format.
View user's profile Send private message
Will try the different file format options
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:00 am Reply with quote
danomano
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 7




Guess will try the other format options and see what happens..

I'm guessing the PIDs must have the data needed that allows the TV to remap KOMO to say 4.1 vs 38??
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:15 am Reply with quote
danomano
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 7




Well just tried the newer format and it does indeed have 8VSB vs VSB_8 in the file..but now I think its erroring out detecting the modulation (i.e. I think it wants 8VSB)

The exact error: (and yes i tried different demux 0-2..no go)

[root@localhost dvb-atsc-tools-1.0.4]# azap -d1 -r KING-SD
using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux1'
ERROR: error while parsing modulation (syntax error)


the new formatted file:
KCPQ-DT:497000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KONG-DT:575000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KONG-SD:575000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
KOMO-DT:617000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KING-DT:677000000:8VSB:0x31:0x34:0x03
KING-SD:677000000:8VSB:0x41:0x44:0x04
View user's profile Send private message
scanning works, dtvsignal == 0, bad pids (bad card??)
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin