pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Can't get sound to synch with video (analog cable)
Can't get sound to synch with video (analog cable)
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:12 am Reply with quote
someone777

I have tried LinuxMCE, Mythbuntu and MythDora. In LinuxMCE it wont even detect the card, for the other two I get the exact same problem of the sound coming in through Line In but not being controlled by MythTV.

The only solution I could even really find said to go into AlsaMixer, go to Line In, hit Space (to set as capture but when I do it nothing happens) and hit M (to Mute).

I suppose it doesn't help that this is my first attempt at using Linux. If anyone knows of some kind of guide or something to help me fix this I'd really appreciate it.

If it matters, the specs for my computer are:

CPU: AMD 64X2 4000+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
2 GB DDR 800 RAM
pcHDTV 5500

I'm using the onboard sound and video.
Re: Can't get sound to synch with video (analog cable)
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:47 am Reply with quote
jason52

someone777 wrote:
I have tried LinuxMCE, Mythbuntu and MythDora. In LinuxMCE it wont even detect the card, for the other two I get the exact same problem of the sound coming in through Line In but not being controlled by MythTV.

The only solution I could even really find said to go into AlsaMixer, go to Line In, hit Space (to set as capture but when I do it nothing happens) and hit M (to Mute).

I suppose it doesn't help that this is my first attempt at using Linux. If anyone knows of some kind of guide or something to help me fix this I'd really appreciate it.

If it matters, the specs for my computer are:

CPU: AMD 64X2 4000+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
2 GB DDR 800 RAM
pcHDTV 5500

I'm using the onboard sound and video.

Are you using it to capture video or tune TV? Since you're using Myth, I'm guessing you're using the TV tuner...