pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> Getting killed here
Getting killed here
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:15 pm Reply with quote
Devizier

I'm a complete Linux newbie trying to get my girlfriend an HTPC box. Because of concerns with the termination of OTA SD broadcasts beginning February 2009 I decided to eschew Hauppauge and go with PCHDTV.

Got the latest build of Mythbuntu and was ready to go... Immediately encountered the following problems:

1. Scan for digital channels came up completely empty. This might be because the antenna is sitting on top of her TV, in the center of a concrete box apartment. At least 5-6 walls of concrete separate us from the broadcast towers (for UHF). Maybe we can try placing the antenna (simple rabbit ears/UHF loop) near a window to get improved reception, or improve the antenna.

Worth noting that we live in Seattle, where the digital broadcasts are very strong. Is multipath the issue here, or is there a known PCHDTV configuration concern?

2. Successfully scanned for analog channels and could view them, but immediately noticed two things:

a. No sound
b. Four or five lines of snow/garbage at the top of the TV image.

As for the sound, I noticed the instructions elsewhere in the forum and tried them except that I exited VI incorrectly (never used it before). When I used it again (same command line) I was asked to recover and opted not to, again writing in the instructions as stated, saving properly this time. Still no sound.

As for the snow, is this due to poor VHF reception or what? It comes up on every channel, even the ones that come in strong. So I'm leaning against that.

Anyhow, any assistance would be great. Really want to get this working without any further expense.

Thanks
Joel
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:44 pm Reply with quote
waterhead