Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> hd-5500/MythBuntu - Scan finds nothing - Can't run dtvscan Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
hd-5500/MythBuntu - Scan finds nothing - Can't run dtvscan
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:36 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




I've read around some of these forums and tried a few things.

First I couldn't get the card to find any channels in Mythbuntu (either using V4L or DVB drivers).

So then I tried to use dtvscan but it won't let me. I get:
"main:2247: FATAL: failed to open '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0': 16 Device or resource busy"

I don't know what could be using this resource. I'm pretty sure it's not the Mythbackend as I am logged into a regular Ubuntu-Gnome session - not Mythbuntu. Is there a way to check what is using this resource? Perhaps that is why Mythbuntu doesn't find any channels either.

FYI I'm trying to get OTA ATSC channels only and have checked that both the modules cx88-dvb and lgdt330x are in lsmod.

Jonno.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:26 pm Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




under the DVB configuration, have you checked and made sure that the card is set to open on demand?

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:04 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Seakip18 wrote:
under the DVB configuration, have you checked and made sure that the card is set to open on demand?


How do I do that?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:27 am Reply with quote
Seakip18
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Location: Jackson, MS




1. Launch MythTV configuration
2. Go to the Capture cards.
3. Make sure your card is set up as a DVB card.
4. Go to recording options
5. Make sure "Open Dvb card on-demand" is selected
Lemme know if that lets the card be used.

_________________
Athlon 64 X2 1.9GHz Brisbane
ECS Geforce 6100
Geforce 7600GT EVGA
320GB Diamond Maxtor
320GB WD Cavier
Corsair 2GB ValueSelect
Currently Running:MythBuntu .2
Previous OS's:Ubuntu Fiesty with MCE VM
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:24 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Seakip18 wrote:
1. Launch MythTV configuration
2. Go to the Capture cards.
3. Make sure your card is set up as a DVB card.
4. Go to recording options
5. Make sure "Open Dvb card on-demand" is selected
Lemme know if that lets the card be used.


Thanks for the suggestion. It worked and I ran dtvscan with:
scan /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-NTSC-center-frequencies-8VSB
and
scan /usr/share/doc/dvb-utils/examples/scan/atsc/us-ATSC-center-frequencies-8VSB

but tuning fails on every channel. I know there is a good signal on the input as I get a clear picture on my tv.

Does anyone have any suggestions before I return this?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:22 am Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




I'm getting closer. Both Myth & dtvscan find some channels now. dtvsignal gives decent signal strength for some but 0% for some other channels.

However I can't get Myth to show any tv still.

I tried running Mythbackend from the terminal and I do see the following error:
2007-12-30 01:18:39.977 Enabled verbose msgs: important general
/var/lib/mythtv/recordings/nfslockfile.lock: Permission denied
Unable to open lockfile!
Be sure that '/var/lib/mythtv/recordings' exists and that both
the directory and that file are writeable by this user.

I changed the permissions to my user but it didn't seem to help. Any ideas? Is there something else I can do outside of Myth to see if the card is working? Is there any better documentation for the dtv tools? Also how do I quit the dtvsignal process nicely from the terminal without closing the terminal down?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:21 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Make sure that is the directory that is specified in mythtv-setup.

I usually create a separate partition for my recordings, formatted as a JFS file system. I then mount this partition in a /video folder that I create.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:43 am Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




waterhead wrote:
Make sure that is the directory that is specified in mythtv-setup.

I usually create a separate partition for my recordings, formatted as a JFS file system. I then mount this partition in a /video folder that I create.


I just left this as the default in the Myth setup. Should this affect the ability of Myth to play tv? I don't even want to record anything at this point. I bought the card with the intention of building a new system but I thought I would check it out first by installing it on my desktop Ubuntu system first.

What else can I do outside of Myth to check the card is working ok?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:12 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Ok this is all weird.

With dtvscan I get the following output:
KXAN HD:515028615:8VSB:49:52:3
KLRU-DT:521028615:8VSB:49:52:3
KLRU-P_:521028615:8VSB:65:68:4
KVUE-DT:587028615:8VSB:17:20:1
KNVA HD:683028615:8VSB:49:52:3
KTBCDT :725028615:8VSB:49:52:3

I'm not sure how to translate that but I then tried dtvsignal 49 and got about 90% signal power.

I couldn't figure out how to get xine to play anything (when I clicked on DVB I got that it couldn't find the channels.conf file even though I had it right in the /.xine folder).

So I went back to shooting in the dark with Mythtv. This time I changed the recordings folder to my Desktop just to see if it worked and sure enough now Mythbackend runs ok. I went through scanning the channels in Mythtv Backend Setup and it now finds Channels 7, 18, 20, 24, 36, 42, 54. When I quite I make sure to run mythfilldatabase.

Now I start Mythbackend and then the frontend to watch live tv but I still can't see anything.

I don't have a remote setup so I'm assuming that I just type in the channel number. I've tried all the channel numbers that Myth found and on the bottom of the screen I always get 0% signal strength. On some of the channels I get partial lock but still 0%. I tried typing ch 49 but got nothing.

I had the terminal open where I started Mythbackend as I did this and I get the following output if it's any use:
2007-12-30 15:05:58.864 TVRec(1): PauseRecorder() called with no recorder
2007-12-30 15:05:59.291 DVBChan(0) Error: Unable to find channel in database.
2007-12-30 15:05:59.292 DVBChan(0) Error: SetChannelByString(42): Failed to initialize channel options
2007-12-30 15:05:59.292 TVRec(1) Error: Failed to set channel to 42.
2007-12-30 15:05:59.295 TVRec(1) Error: GetProgramRingBufferForLiveTV()
ProgramInfo is invalid.
ProgramInfo: channame() startts(Sun Dec 30 15:05:59 2007) endts(Sun Dec 30 15:05:59 2007)
recstartts(Sun Dec 30 15:05:59 2007) recendts(Sun Dec 30 15:05:59 2007)
title()
2007-12-30 15:05:59.526 Finished recording : channel 4294967295
2007-12-30 15:05:59.781 Preview Error: Previewer file '/home/jonno/Desktop//4294967295_20071230150552.mpg' is not valid.
2007-12-30 15:06:12.713 TVRec(1): PauseRecorder() called with no recorder
2007-12-30 15:06:13.288 DVBChan(0) Error: Unable to find channel in database.
2007-12-30 15:06:13.288 DVBChan(0) Error: SetChannelByString(54): Failed to initialize channel options
2007-12-30 15:06:13.288 TVRec(1) Error: Failed to set channel to 54.
2007-12-30 15:06:13.292 TVRec(1) Error: GetProgramRingBufferForLiveTV()
ProgramInfo is invalid.
ProgramInfo: channame() startts(Sun Dec 30 15:06:13 2007) endts(Sun Dec 30 15:06:13 2007)
recstartts(Sun Dec 30 15:06:13 2007) recendts(Sun Dec 30 15:06:13 2007)
title()


I'm pretty sure I'm confused about a number of issues here so any help would be greatly appreciated. Is there something wrong with my channel setup for example? Sure looks like it. I'm pretty green with Ubuntu as you might be able to tell...
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:27 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




In the mythtv-setup program, go through the settings starting at the top. Make sure that they are correct.

In the General section, make sure that in the address sections you have 127.0.0.1, or localhost may work too.

In Video Sources, give it a name. I am not using DataDirect, so I selected Transmitted Guide Only (EIT). I only get data from one channel, but I can still watch TV on all channels.

At this point it may be best to delete all channels and capture cards, and start the setup process from the beginning.

PS. Use the up/down keyboard arrows to change the channels. It is difficult to type in the ATSC channels because of the major/minor separator (58.1 or 58_1)

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:54 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




In digital broadcasting, the channel number is usually not the frequency that it is actually broadcast on. Because stations have spent decades associating the analog channel with them, their digital signal is re-mapped so that it appears to have the same channel number as the analog version

I see that you are in the Austin, TX area. From AntennaWeb.org I got this info:

Code:

Call Sign--Channel-------Frequency
KLRU-DT-----18.1   PBS      22
KEYE-DT-----42.1   CBS      43
KXAN-DT-----36.1   NBC      21
KVUE-DT-----24.1   ABC      33
KTBC-DT-----7.1    FOX      56
KNVA-DT-----54.1   CW       49
KCWX-DT-----2.1    CW       5

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:02 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




I have the address set to 127.0.0.1

I have the Video Source named "Video Source" - imaginative. And I am also using Transmitted Guide Only (can't tell if it actually gets anything).

I deleted all the channels then scanned again.

Then I ran mythbackend from a terminal. Here is the output:
~$ mythbackend
2007-12-30 15:52:17.011 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2007-12-30 15:52:17.028 New DB connection, total: 1
2007-12-30 15:52:17.035 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-30 15:52:17.043 Current Schema Version: 1160
Starting up as the master server.
2007-12-30 15:52:17.052 New DB connection, total: 2
2007-12-30 15:52:17.053 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-30 15:52:17.056 EITHelper: localtime offset -6:00:00
2007-12-30 15:52:17.060 TVRec(1) Error: Start channel invalid, setting to '18' on input Television instead.
2007-12-30 15:52:17.062 New DB connection, total: 3
2007-12-30 15:52:17.063 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-30 15:52:17.066 TVRec(1) Error: Setting start channel '18' failed,
and backup '7' failed as well.
2007-12-30 15:52:17.091 New DB scheduler connection
2007-12-30 15:52:17.092 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-30 15:52:18.452 Main::Registering HttpStatus Extension
2007-12-30 15:52:18.452 mythbackend version: 0.20.20070821-1 www.mythtv.org
2007-12-30 15:52:18.453 Enabled verbose msgs: important general
2007-12-30 15:52:18.453 AutoExpire: Found 1 recorders w/max rate of 138 MiB/min
2007-12-30 15:52:18.455 AutoExpire: Required Free Space: 3.0 GB w/freq: 10 min
2007-12-30 15:52:19.102 Reschedule requested for id -1.
2007-12-30 15:52:19.164 Scheduled 0 items in 0.1 = 0.01 match + 0.06 place
2007-12-30 15:52:19.169 Seem to be woken up by USER
2007-12-30 15:52:37.120 AutoExpire: ERROR when trying to autoexpire file: /home/jonno/Desktop//4294967295_20071230144250.mpg. File doesn't exist. Database metadata will not be removed.
2007-12-30 15:52:37.120 AutoExpire: ERROR when trying to autoexpire file: /home/jonno/Desktop//4294967295_20071230144451.mpg. File doesn't exist. Database metadata will not be removed.

I then ran mythfrontend from a terminal and get:
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 158
Major opcode: 146
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 158
Major opcode: 146
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
2007-12-30 15:56:43.225 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2007-12-30 15:56:43.238 Gnome-Screensaver support enabled
2007-12-30 15:56:43.239 DPMS is active.
2007-12-30 15:56:43.266 New DB connection, total: 1
2007-12-30 15:56:43.272 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-30 15:56:43.274 Total desktop dim: 1280x1024, with 1 screen[s].
2007-12-30 15:56:43.284 Running in a window
2007-12-30 15:56:43.284 Using screen 0, 1280x1024 at 0,0
2007-12-30 15:56:43.300 Current Schema Version: 1160
2007-12-30 15:56:43.302 mythfrontend version: 0.20.20070821-1 www.mythtv.org
2007-12-30 15:56:43.303 Enabled verbose msgs: important general
2007-12-30 15:56:44.726 Total desktop dim: 1280x1024, with 1 screen[s].
2007-12-30 15:56:44.729 Running in a window
2007-12-30 15:56:44.729 Using screen 0, 1280x1024 at 0,0
2007-12-30 15:56:44.730 Switching to square mode (G.A.N.T.)
2007-12-30 15:56:44.802 Using the Qt painter
mythtv: could not connect to socket
mythtv: No such file or directory
lirc_init failed for mythtv, see preceding messages
2007-12-30 15:56:45.283 Joystick disabled.

followed by a bunch of stuff about images...

Still doesn't work.

When I try to change channels using the up/down arrow keys it says Adding Chann (unknown)
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:05 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Quote:
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 158
Major opcode: 146
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device


I have a feeling that this is the root of the problem. Is it a device problem or a Xserver problem? I googled it and it seems to show up on other non-tv related applications.

I don't have an answer, and I think that there are only four or five of us that even monitor these forums. So, I recommend seeking an answer on another forum, such as the AVS Linux Forums or even the MythTV mailing list.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:10 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I just found something.
https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/kubuntu-users/2007-October/subject.html#21980

It says to open the xorg.conf file and delete the "wacom" entry.

Here's another, more specific:
http://fixunix.com/ubuntu/258228-problems-gnome-appearance-properties.html

Quote:
Anyways the problem lies in your xorg.conf file containing references to the
wacom device. You need to comment out ALL lines containing references to
that wacom tablet.

Start by backing up your xorg.conf file to be safe - in a terminal do:

cd /etc/X11
sudo cp xorg.conf xorg.conf.original

Now edit the xorg.conf file:

gksudo gedit xorg.conf

Look for ALL lines referring to "wacom" and place a # symbol at the start of
the lines: Example:

#Section "InputDevice"
# Driver "wacom"
# Identifier "stylus"
# Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
# /dev/input/event
# for USB
# Option "Type" "stylus"
# Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
#EndSection

move on and do the other inputdevices referring to "wacom", with
identifiers: "eraser" and "cursor"

Then go to the end of the xorg.conf file in the Section "SeverLayout"
section and comment out just these 3 lines:

# InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"

Save the file.

Close the terminal.

Restart X by hitting CTRL+ALT+Backspace

You can then try doing what you wanted to do and shouldn't see that error.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:20 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Another fix for that specific error is to remove gtk-qt-engine. I don't know if this will fix the TV card problem. I think that MythTV needs QT, unless you select a different engine in one of the setup menus.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
hd-5500/MythBuntu - Scan finds nothing - Can't run dtvscan
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 4  
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin