Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup -> hd-5500/MythBuntu - Scan finds nothing - Can't run dtvscan Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:31 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Here is a step-by-step How-To for creating a /video folder to keep the MythTV videos in. You may know some of this already, but I'll go through the entire process for others that may read this.

First, open a terminal and log in as root
Code:
> su
Password: <enter password here>

Then create the folder:
Code:
# mkdir /video

For Ubuntu users (and it's variants, Kbuntu, Mythbuntu etc.)
Code:
> sudo mkdir /video
Password: <enter password here>

Now change the permissions of the folder so that everybody has permission to do everything in that folder:
Code:
# chmod 777 /video
or
> sudo chmod 777 /video
Password: <enter password here>

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:25 am Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




waterhead wrote:
Here is a step-by-step How-To for creating a /video folder to keep the MythTV videos in. You may know some of this already, but I'll go through the entire process for others that may read this.

First, open a terminal and log in as root
Code:
> su
Password: <enter password here>

Then create the folder:
Code:
# mkdir /video

For Ubuntu users (and it's variants, Kbuntu, Mythbuntu etc.)
Code:
> sudo mkdir /video
Password: <enter password here>

Now change the permissions of the folder so that everybody has permission to do everything in that folder:
Code:
# chmod 777 /video
or
> sudo chmod 777 /video
Password: <enter password here>


Ok cool I did all that and changed it in the Myth Backend Setup.

Then someone had told me you can't start mythbackend from the terminal the way I was doing and to do it like this:
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/mythtv-backend restart


So when I do that I my mythbackendlog looks like:
Code:
2007-12-31 10:06:10.780 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2007-12-31 10:06:10.806 New DB connection, total: 1
2007-12-31 10:06:10.815 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-31 10:06:10.820 Current Schema Version: 1160
Starting up as the master server.
2007-12-31 10:06:10.837 New DB connection, total: 2
2007-12-31 10:06:10.840 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-31 10:06:10.844 EITHelper: localtime offset -6:00:00
2007-12-31 10:06:10.848 TVRec(1) Error: Start channel invalid, setting to '18' on input Television instead.
2007-12-31 10:06:10.855 New DB connection, total: 3
2007-12-31 10:06:10.856 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-31 10:06:10.860 TVRec(1) Error: Setting start channel '18' failed,
and backup '7' failed as well.
2007-12-31 10:06:10.881 New DB scheduler connection
2007-12-31 10:06:10.883 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2007-12-31 10:06:12.234 Main::Registering HttpStatus Extension
2007-12-31 10:06:12.236 mythbackend version: 0.20.20070821-1 www.mythtv.org
2007-12-31 10:06:12.237 Enabled verbose msgs: important general
2007-12-31 10:06:12.238 AutoExpire: Found 1 recorders w/max rate of 138 MiB/min
2007-12-31 10:06:12.241 AutoExpire: Required Free Space: 3.0 GB w/freq: 10 min
2007-12-31 10:06:12.902 Reschedule requested for id -1.
2007-12-31 10:06:12.944 Scheduled 0 items in 0.0 = 0.01 match + 0.03 place
2007-12-31 10:06:12.949 Seem to be woken up by USER


No errors about permissions at least. However I don't see mythbackend in the System monitor. How can I check it's actually running?

The backendlog then keeps adding this stuff:
Code:
2007-12-31 10:08:30.939 AutoExpire: ERROR when trying to autoexpire file: /video/4294967295_20071230144451.mpg. File doesn't exist.  Database metadata will not be removed.
2007-12-31 10:08:30.939 AutoExpire: ERROR when trying to autoexpire file: /video/4294967295_20071230170541.mpg. File doesn't exist.  Database metadata will not be removed.


This is all without the frontend going. When I do start the frontend I don't get errors but no tv.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:30 am Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




By the way. Since I now have a channels.conf file which I actually understand - is it possible to manually put this data into myth rather than use Myth's channel scanning and channel editor capability?
Where does Myth store the channel data?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:59 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I changed my Mythbuntu desktop to Gnome. Don't ask me how, 'cause I'm not really sure. I kept trying things until it finally changed.

In the upper taskbar, click on Administration. I have two applications for MythTV there. The Mythbuntu Control Centre has a lot of configuration options. The other one, MythTV Backend Setup, is to start the mythtv-setup program. It will start or stop the backend for you, no more terminal commands.

To import the channels.conf file to MythTV, Start the mythtv-setup program and do this:
Input Connections --->
DVB:0 (select your card) --->
Scan For Channels --->
Scan Type (hit right arrow to change scan type to Import channels.conf)

Also, the previous page has a spot to enter the starting channel number. Make sure that this is set to a known good channel. This is responsible for one of the errors that you were getting.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:09 am Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Ok I just noticed something weird when setting up the Backend.

In the Capture Card setup I choose DVB DTV
Then I select card 0 and the frontend ID reads ok
Then in Analog Options if I choose /dev/video0 the card probe fails but if I choose /dev/video1 it probes the card correctly as the hd-5500 so I leave it set to that.

Now in Input Connections I have a list something like
[DVB:0](DVB Input)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Television)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](S-Video)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Composite)->Video Source

Should I select [DVB:0] to set up the scan? I'm guessing that just sets up all the inputs the same way. I hadn't noticed the V4L before. Do you think that means it is still using the V4L drivers?

When I select one of the input connections I can then choose the Capture Card on the next screen for scanning:
If I choose [DVB:0] nothing seems to happen when I scan - even if the scan is to import channels.conf
If I choose [V4L:/dev/video1] the scan seems to work and I get a list of channels. Maybe it is using the wrong driver though...
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:58 am Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Your card has both analog and digital tuners on it. MythTV now supports using both tuners.

First set it up using the DVB driver. There will then be a section for setting up the analog tuner as well. This means that you will scan twice.

If you want to make things simpler, forget about the analog tuner. You can come back to that later.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:05 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




waterhead wrote:
Your card has both analog and digital tuners on it. MythTV now supports using both tuners.

First set it up using the DVB driver. There will then be a section for setting up the analog tuner as well. This means that you will scan twice.

If you want to make things simpler, forget about the analog tuner. You can come back to that later.


Ok sorry if this is dumb but which is the analog tuner then?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:11 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




Dvb is the digital tuner driver and V4L is the analog tuner driver.

Don't try to use the pcHDTV V4L driver. That is for the old pcHDTV HD-2000 card.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:26 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




waterhead wrote:
Dvb is the digital tuner driver and V4L is the analog tuner driver.

Don't try to use the pcHDTV V4L driver. That is for the old pcHDTV HD-2000 card.


Ok so when I see this in the Input Connections setup:
[code][DVB:0](DVB Input)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Television)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](S-Video)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Composite)->Video Source[/cpde]
the first line is to set up the digital tuning (for all inputs?) and the next 3 lines are for analog tuning of the individual connections?

If I select [DVB:0](DVB Input)->Video Source and then choose Capture Card = DVB:0 then nothing ever happens in the Scan.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:36 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I thought that you were going to use the channels.conf file.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:45 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




waterhead wrote:
I thought that you were going to use the channels.conf file.

I tried both ways. It just says scanning. Does the format of channels.conf have to be any different for mythtv?

Btw do you have a list of the components you ended up putting together for your new system?
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:36 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




I always scanned for channels, and found them. I would guess that maybe some of your settings are incorrect. Is is set for ATSC?

My systems are the one listed in my signature, and the other is in that link to an AVS Forum thread that I posted before. http://pchdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=19454#19454

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:57 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Just had an idea. Rather than mess around with my desktop anymore - I have a large HDD which is currently used externally but which I was thinking of using for the new system. I think I'll plonk that in as the only drive and do try a clean Mythbuntu install from a CD to see how that works.

Hopefully I'll have an update tomorrow since I'm still off work. Thanks for all your help Waterhead - have a great Hogmanay!
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:14 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




jonno wrote:
Ok so when I see this in the Input Connections setup:
[code][DVB:0](DVB Input)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Television)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](S-Video)->Video Source
->[V4L:/dev/video1](Composite)->Video Source[/cpde]
the first line is to set up the digital tuning (for all inputs?) and the next 3 lines are for analog tuning of the individual connections?

If I select [DVB:0](DVB Input)->Video Source and then choose Capture Card = DVB:0 then nothing ever happens in the Scan.


I just noticed this. I think that you need to have a separate source setup for each input. I know that when you used the old Zap2it guide data, you needed two accounts. One for digital and one for analog. I'm not sure about using it without guide data.

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:36 pm Reply with quote
jonno
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 27




Well well well I did finally get pretty close. I think one of my main problems was not letting the DVB:0 scan have enough time to complete. Anyway I managed to get the channels added.

However, now my problem is with the playback of live tv. The video is just a bright blue screen. My guess is the problem lies with the Intel on-board graphics I mentioned before. Time to build the new system I think.
View user's profile Send private message
hd-5500/MythBuntu - Scan finds nothing - Can't run dtvscan
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Installation/Setup
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 3 of 4  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin