Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search pcHDTV Forum Index
pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Driver Issues -> MythTV problems with S-Video input
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
MythTV problems with S-Video input
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:12 pm Reply with quote
kshots
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Florida




I'm having trouble getting mythtv to read from the S-Video input on my HD-5500. When I watch TV, I get this in my backend's log:
Code:
2008-01-16 18:18:42.847 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:42.981 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:43.131 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:43.188 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:43.244 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:43.304 pcHDTV::GetSignal_v4l1(fd 19, input 2, v4l2): error(Invalid argument)
2008-01-16 18:18:43.336 TVRec(2): Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
2008-01-16 18:18:43.393 Finished recording WESH 2 News at 6 PM: channel 1002
2008-01-16 18:20:01.213 Expiring WESH 2 News at 6 PM from Wed Jan 16 18:00:00 2008, 0 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
invalid argument? What's up?

Code:
phoenix linux # uname -a
Linux phoenix 2.6.23-gentoo-r3 #3 Wed Jan 16 18:02:20 EST 2008 i686 VIA Esther processor 1200MHz CentaurHauls GNU/Linux

Code:
phoenix linux # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_pcm_oss            38112  0
snd_mixer_oss          13632  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_oss            27776  0
snd_seq_midi_event      5824  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                42768  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_via82xx            20884  0
snd_ac97_codec         94372  1 snd_via82xx
snd_pcm                65672  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              17540  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          7560  2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401_uart         6144  1 snd_via82xx
snd_rawmidi            17952  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          6412  3 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd                    41700  11 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
via                    41280  4
drm                   125040  5 via
tuner                  61544  0
cx8800                 28000  0
compat_ioctl32          1024  1 cx8800
ftdi_sio               30408  1
usbserial              27112  3 ftdi_sio
lirc_serial             9508  0
lirc_dev               10468  1 lirc_serial
dvb_pll                 9668  1
lgdt330x                8068  1
cx88_dvb               12292  0
cx88_vp3054_i2c         2304  1 cx88_dvb
video_buf_dvb           4420  1 cx88_dvb
orinoco_cs             13188  1
dvb_core               70184  2 lgdt330x,video_buf_dvb
orinoco                35988  1 orinoco_cs
hermes                  6144  2 orinoco_cs,orinoco
ac97_bus                1856  1 snd_ac97_codec
cx8802                 14468  1 cx88_dvb
cx88xx                 59876  3 cx8800,cx88_dvb,cx8802
ir_common              29572  1 cx88xx
i2c_algo_bit            5508  2 cx88_vp3054_i2c,cx88xx
i2c_viapro              7124  0
tveeprom               14160  1 cx88xx
i2c_core               19280  8 tuner,dvb_pll,lgdt330x,cx88_vp3054_i2c,cx88xx,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_viapro,tveeprom
videodev               25472  2 cx8800,cx88xx
v4l2_common            15232  4 tuner,cx8800,cx88xx,videodev
v4l1_compat            13380  1 videodev
btcx_risc               3912  3 cx8800,cx8802,cx88xx
video_buf              19780  5 cx8800,cx88_dvb,video_buf_dvb,cx8802,cx88xx
Any ideas? I just received this card today and haven't had the chance to test with it yet on other functions to verify the card is working properly, but my dmesg messages look healthy to me.

EDIT: Same problem with analog TV input. Any ideas?

EDIT2: Ok, I found part of the problem - I was trying to capture standard feeds while my card was trying to capture HD feeds. Resolving that, I switched mythtv back to "analog v4l card" rather than the PC-HDTV input, ran a channel scan, and suddenly it picked up my tuner on channel 3 (I'm using an external tuner at the moment... cable gets installed next tuesday).

Unfortunately, now that I do successfully get a channel lock, I get nothing but static. I'm guessing it's possible that the card is failing to tune to channel 3 (I have "preset tuner to channel: 3" set in the input dialog). Any ideas on how to resolve this? For now, I'm going to try going back to S-Video and seeing if I can get a good signal there on the standard v4l input...

EDIT3: Ok, the S-Video input works, and once I told my sound card to capture audio from the line-in, my other machines were able to listen in on the capture video/audio streams as well. I still can't use my coax cable for standard television, though... that will be a problem when I switch to cable and won't have the standard channels without an external tuner. Still reaching for ideas...

_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:05 pm Reply with quote
waterhead
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 299




This card is capable of receiving unencrypted cable channels (QAM). Why not hook the cable up directly and scan for channels?

_________________
Mythbuntu 8.04
Intel D875PBZ main board
Pentium4 3.06Ghz
1024GB RAM
nVidia 6600GT
pcHDTV HD-3000
Air2PC PCI
MythTV 0.21
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:13 am Reply with quote
kshots
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Florida




Because until I switch to cable, I'm currently receiving from satellite... which is encrypted. The only way to receive anything here is after it's decoded by my satellite receiver. This will change on 22 January, though, when I switch over to cable and dump my satellite.

_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:45 pm Reply with quote
Sandra06
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2011
Posts: 2




The internal video cable you need to connect the different parts of your entertainment system, such as your DVD player, cable box, cable box, video game system like Xbox or PlayStation, or other device. You do not need to connect son now different to the other for compatibility, making a mess of the whole system and then finally give up. With the use of video cables, you can now easily connect your home entertainment system and enjoy them without suffering the pain of multiple cable connections.

s-video cable
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:54 am Reply with quote
kshots
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Florida




Really? You woke this thread up for an advertisement? Ugh...

_________________
Life without passion is death in disguise
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:13 am Reply with quote
Sandra06
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2011
Posts: 2




No maaate...it's not like that.

I have added more value to this thread.

Sorry if I have done anything wrong.

Sandra
View user's profile Send private message
MythTV problems with S-Video input
  pcHDTV Forum Index -> Driver Issues
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 7 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2003 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin