pcHDTV Forum

pcHDTV Forum Index -> Building home entertainment systems in linux -> What type of hardware do I need?
What type of hardware do I need?
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 1:34 pm Reply with quote
GammaPoint

Hi, so I've got a couple pretty noobish questions.I'm building my first computer and would like to connect it to the new HDTV that I bought. I've never done this before and so if I could get some advice on the hardware I need that'd be great.

I'd like to run MythTV with Ubuntu. I was thinking about buying the pchd-5500 PVR card. This allows me to capture HD signals from the wall correct? But unless I'm really mistaken I still need to buy a video card to output movies on my computer's HD to the TV? Assuming this is the case, is there anything in specific that I should look for in a video card? (Note: I've never bought a video card either, my last computer had integrated graphics).

Also, is there any other hardware that I might want to buy?

Thanks for all your help!
Re: What type of hardware do I need?
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 7:47 am Reply with quote
waterhead

GammaPoint wrote:
I was thinking about buying the pchd-5500 PVR card. This allows me to capture HD signals from the wall correct?

I'm not sure what you mean by "from the wall". If it means that you want to capture HD from a cable company's hook up, then forget it. Stop right there!

Almost all cable channels are encrypted, except for the local channels. And then they sometimes encrypt these too, illegally. The quality of cable channels is usually less, because they compress the signal so that they can cram more channels through the cable. The over-the-air (OTA) picture quality is usually superior, but may require the use of an outdoor antenna.